Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. James & St. John School

Private | PK-5 | 231 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2013

My oldest son, who is now 39, my daughter, who is 35, & my youngest son, who is 29, all went to St James & John School under the leadership of Principal, Mrs. King -Cassell. Currently, my oldest granddaughter graduated from St James & is graduating from high school this year and my other grandchildren now attend. It is the best school ever and it should have 5 stars. I love St James!! Lillie Brown, parent of past students & grandparent of current students


Posted June 29, 2010

I love this school my son went from Pre-k thru 5th grade..and I truly missed the teachers and adminitrator Mrs King-Cassell knew each student by name they provided a safe enviorment to learn when several catholic school closed which left my family scrambling to find a school for the 8th grade I was Truly excited to find the St James & Johns had been made into a middle school and I immediatlely enrolled my son Joseph back to his beginings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

My daughter went to this school from preK thru fifth grade and I was simply delighted with the level of learning and professionalism administered to the student and parents. Simply awesome principal, teachers and administrative staff, can't say enough great things about this institution!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

My brother and I both attended this school and we both ended up graduating from high school early. This school set the foundation for us so that we could both go further in life. As far as extracurricular activities are concerned, if you are downtown there are many places you can take your child. The problem with children nowadays is that parents drop their children off at daycare or let them stay afterschool and 'hope' for the best. Stop being lazy and take a more active role in your childs life. To the June 1, 2007 poster, what did you do for your child? It's easy to blame a school but nowhere in your post did you discuss your role in your childs education (besides paying money). If money is your only issue, you are missing the point.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2008

I once was a student of this school and my daughter is now attending, completing her first year (Pre-K 3). My daughter enjoys coming to school. At this school everyone is pleasent and treated like a family. My daughters teacher is Ms. Barnett and this is also her first year. I love the way she is firm with the students and how she makes learning fun for each of her students. She is a wonderful person and great new addition to the St. James and John family. Shania Plummer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

I am happy and delighted about the work of an excellent principal, Mrs. King-Cassell! All three of my kids have attended this great school. The teachers are top-notch, the curriculum is enforced greatly, and the principal knows each child individually. This school is a family. Many parents complain about extra-curricular activties, but you have to weigh the importance of a good, quality education over the quantity of activities that would allow the parent to take charge and choose what's best for your child or children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

Excellent school. Good teacher interaction with students. My granddaughters attend this school and the oldest one's academic skills were greatly improved. The parent involvement is very good. Academic programs are outstanding. Extracurricular activities are few. However, the children are very well behaved and most importantly, happy while learning. This is a family oriented school. You will immediately sense this upon entering the doors of Sts. James and John.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

This is the first school my son attended and I can say I was a little disappointed. I believe my child's performance should have been way higher than he was graded. When money is involved with a child's education, I believe the parent as well as the child should get there money worth. I feel as though my son was short changed with his education. To me he is leaving this school with more friends and the same knowledge he came to the school with. He learned very little and could have been pushed to learn much more. I do understand a parent has to take part in there child's education and discipline, but if I push harder and the teacher don't what do the child get out of it. His teacher could have done a much better job. My child will not be returning to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

I think this school needs extracurricular activities. My daughter always complian of no gym, no computers. They don't even teach Foriegn Languages. If it wasn't for the availbility of the distance from Home and Work. I would send my child to Father Charles. Their academic levels and teacher quality is at it's highest. My child was voted smartest student of the year for kindergarten. And now she is on the honor roll. I will give their overall on scale from 1-5. 4 if they had extracurricular activities it would increase to a 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 40%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 10%
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 45%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1012 Somerset St
Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone: (410) 342-3222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT