Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 343

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School 3

Posted April 18, 2014
- a community member
Dr. Carter G Woodson is only what the children, parents and staff make it. In order to get something out you have to put something in. So what are the people doing besides CRITICIZING? STOP TALKING AND DO SOMETHING TO MAKE IT BETTER. PARENTS, FAMILY , FRIENDS AND THE COMMUNITY GET INVOLVED. BE ABOUT MAKING A CHANGE FOR THE BETTER INSTEAD OF THE PROBLEM. YOU NEED THE ENTIRE VILLAGE TO MAKE A CHANGE WORKING ON ONE ACCORDED.

Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School 1

Posted December 10, 2011
- a teacher
Fair warning to any teacher in the BCPS system: Do not join this school. The principal is the most unprofessional I have known in this system after several years. While the tax payers paid for much of his Phd education, he has failed his own staff and his students time and time again. Not only does he not grasp the inner workings of the school system, but also much of life. Pity I feel for him more than anything else. Nevertheless, do not join this school if you can avoid it at all.


Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School 1

Posted August 17, 2011
- a teacher
Unfortunately, the principal has no interest in the growth of the students or the teachers. Experiencing the chaos, lack of structure in addition to inconsistent non existing protocol, that does not support the teacher nor encourage the students. These kids are being set-up for failure. Those few parents who view this is as a positive, please view the entire picture.

Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School 1

Posted August 15, 2011
- a teacher
This school is a disgrace to the educational system. The principal is unsupportive, uncooperative, and disrespectful. He knows few children's names, and is clearly only there for his own agenda. The teachers are excellent and are there for the kids, however, the principal puts discipline on the backburner, resulting in shear chaos. The principal has a wonderful chance to make a strong impact on those children by being a male role model, however, he has really turned the school into a place where learning is not valued. CGW will be a better place when he moves on.

Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted June 16, 2011
- a parent
I am a former educator at this school and parent. This is my second time relocating and enrolling my children at Dr. Carter G. Woodson. I feel that Mr. Harris has done a wonderful job since he's been assigned to this school. He is always available and willing to listen and try new ideas. He's open to different approaches from parents and community partners'. As a overseer of children in different schools across Maryland ( Baltimore county, Montgomery, Harford And Prince George's) I would like to clear the air, by saying this is in the top 6 schools that I would recommend. You and your child(ren) are treated fairly and not prejudged like any many of the counties and your child is not passed through because of your poverty level or race. This school could use some improvements, but overall it's a good school. It would be beneficial if some of the parents' would visit the school or volunteer throughout the year. I work full time, but I still manage to support my children by participating in school activities. The neighborhood surrounding the school is really wonderful. It's quiet, clean and peaceful.


Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a parent
Im a parent at Dr.Carter G woodson And I Strongly opssed of what the person below me says mr.Harris had donea remarkable Job for these students Today towson universty has came a video taped such young students it brings me happiness bu this and very please if anyone has to blame for the fighting and misshalfs inthis school dont blame the teachers of the principal I Say blame the parents thats raising th

Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted May 17, 2010
- a parent
i feel that when mr. harris had taken over it has been a monstrocity as far as the learning of the student. but as a parent i feel fustrated that my child comes home beaten up because of the bullying that happen s there. i think that mr.harris or somebody should do something about that.

Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
I have one child currently enrolled at this school and one that went on to grad a few years ago. I am a PTA member and I try to participate as offten as I can, latley I haven't been to active. My child as had some very fine teachers over the years and for some reason alot of them left the school. Parent please stop blaming everything on the Principal and take time out to become active in your childs education. Parent participation is very low at this school and some of the administration has become lazy and complacent. Me and Mr. Harris has not always agreed on some issues, however we had always kept thing professional and have the understnding that it's in the best intrest of the child that matters. These are our children and it's up to us to to determine their future not Mr. Harris.


Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted June 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School 0
no rating

Posted February 09, 2009
- a teacher
Your school is a reflection of its leadership. There is no leadership, so therefore, the school is in chaos. When good leadership comes to Dr. G, then the school will prosper.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School
2501 Seabury Rd, Baltimore, MD  21225
(410) 396-1366
Last modified Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dr. Carter Godwin Woodson Elementary/Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top