Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cross Country Elementary School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2014

School hasn't moved to its full potential in 4 yrs. The school leader is too loud, rude, and disrespectful towards parents and even colleagues. In any other district, he would have been out of a job a long time ago, but in Baltimore, he goes around acting like he's untouchable.


Posted October 10, 2013

Love this school I am an alumni of cross country myself. Principle & teachers are great it's my child's second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

My great nephew attended Cross Country Elementary /Middle School and his last year kindergarten teacher was extraordinary to say the less!!


Posted August 30, 2013

I am not impressed by this school, kids run wild, I even heard the kids singing (RICK ROSS) while in class. My child will be transfering asap!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

This is a wonderful school. The teachers put the students 1st. I get frequent updates on how my child is doing and what he can do if he needs additional help & instruction as well as what I can do to assist at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

Again, this year I am impressed with the curriculum provided to my daughter at Cross Country. She is extra excited about the sciences she is learning this year. Experiments are an everyday thing with her. Being a third year parent, my daughter is in grade 4, I am not comfortable with the children having to stand in the school yard until 8:45 - 9:00 every morning. Even in inclement weather they leave the children outside. This is not a good look for the staff who normally are caring and nurturing to the children. Also, this year there seems to be quite a bit of bullying with the children, especially the girls and this should be addressed immediately before it gets out of hand. My child has been hurt twice this school year from bullying. The next incident I will bring in the police. However, overall the school teachers are doing extremely well academically with the children. Another issue I want to raise is to give all children a chance to be involved in school activities, not just your upper graders. Open up an academic debate team and choose children from each grade to represent the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

This how we do it, Cross Country!!! Keep up the good work!!! The students are counting on you!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

Looking forward to my children starting another enriching year at a wonderful institution of learning. Mr. Durham and his team are already on the ground running. Looks like great things are on the horizon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

My son will be in 4th grade this year and he is looking forward to returning to school. He had such a positive experience with his new teacher last year even though she was new to the school. I'm greatful for such a wonderful public school right in my neighborhood. The principal and staff are working very hard to create a culture where all the students can thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

I witnessed a proud moment at Cross Country Elementary School last evening. The principal and I were standing in front of the school following a meeting that had not gone particularly well. When up walks a gentleman recognizing Mr. Durham from an event he spoke at a few weeks ago. The man was full of praise remarking how Mr. Durham inspired him to volunteer with at risk teen boys and be more involved in his community. He spoke of the change he noticed at the school over the last year. The way students conducted themselves at the end of the day. The change was so great for this parent that he asked for the process of transferring his 1st grader to CCEMS.


Posted June 23, 2011

Cross Country shines! Congratulations on a wonderful year. The Chess Team did great and there were many new and exciting initiatives, like the college tour and a middle school dance. The 8th grade class even enjoyed a "prom". Good job to Mr. Durham and his team!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2011

I am the proud parent of a second grade boy. I am very pleased with the academic standards at Cross Country and look forward to many years of paren, teacher and student interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

I'm glad to be part of the innovative ideas and projects on the horizon for CCEMS. I think that Principal Durham is a breath of fresh of air with new ideas and the teachers and parents need to give him the support he needs in order to move our children and the school forward in a positive direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2010

My child has been going to Cross Country since Kindergarden and I have to say I loved the old principal-he truly made the students remember that school is for learning. As for the new principal, I feel he is not as involved in the school as he should be, if does not make him look good to the Board of Education then he does not spend too much time of dealing with the issue. I think test scores speak for themselves and test scores have dropped tremediously since the "new" principal. In addition, some of the new teachers are very young and do not have the same passion as they did years prior. I am so happy City Counsel implemented the new" grading system" for teachers. As a result, of so many negative changes, my child will not be attending this school next year, which is sad because the original teachers who are still at Cross Country are good teachers and parents are very much involved with their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2010

Cross Country used to be a wonderful school. Over the past 2-3 years it has taken a dramatic turn for the worse. I like the new principal and think his leadership is what has been sorely lacking for many years. However, my 7th grader tells me that the kids are just horrible at this school in terms of lack of respect for authority and rules. She says the kids are not held accountable for their bad behavior at school so it encourages perpetual dysfunction. If I'm holding my child accountable at home for their behavior, the teachers should as well. Bad behavior should not be tolerated. God willing, my daughter will not be going to this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

I love this school and as of today the new principal has made me question the future of my childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

cross country is under the leadership of a very concerned and involved principal. the teachers and staff appear highly motivated and on the same page when it comes to dealing with our children and carrying out the agenda of the schools administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

All three of my children attend the school and the teachers and parents help make the school a growing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

This school is awesome. My son is a IEP student and I was told at his old school he would need medicine to help him focus. Well he attended Cross Country in the 6th grade and he has been doing wonderful. I have no academic problems with him. The teachers are very caring and the principle do not play he is awesome too. I am proud of my son and now he is getting ready to graduate this monday I am going to cry. They helped my son and do not need that medicine. Thank you cross country your the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

Cross Country has something to offer every student and they are consistently extending learning for the students with extra-curricular activites. The students can join the National Championship winning Chess team, the debate team, dance club, lacrosse, future teachers of tommorow, student government, the National Academic League, the pottery club, the art club, or any other activity that is sponsored at the school. Kudos to the administrative team of Mr. Matthew Riley, Principal and his two very busy and competent Assistant Principals, Gregory Martin and Amanda Rice. The school is leading the students towards a successful future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 91% 35%
Hispanic 6% 12%
White 2% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6100 Cross Country Blvd
Baltimore, MD 21215
Phone: (410) 396-0602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bnos Yisroel
Baltimore, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT