Advertisement
Advertisement

The Greenmount School

Private | K-8 | 83 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2014

Looking for community? This is it. Parents and kids alike are very welcoming and friendly. Being part of the co-op makes you part of the school immediately- no warm up period! Academically my son has been challenged and is actually engaged by his teachers. This diverse community has a spot for just about anyone! Coming to GreenMount was the right choice for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

Can't say enough good things about the GreenMount School. It's an exciting, lovingly nurturing, & creative place to go to school. Fantastic administration, imaginative & delightful staff, who are smart, warm, open, insightful, & always very responsive to parent input. I've found them to be right on top of issues like bullying, & inappropriate behavior, so a safe & supportive environment is maintained for all, & the development of social intelligence & character development, as well as academic achievement, is addressed in both classroom & whole school team building activities. The curriculum is expansive, highly creative & fun. We adore the school, & it's been a transformative & extremely positive experience for our daughter, who has blossomed there. She loves coming to school each day. Everyone from the Head of School to the office staff are kind, helpful & clearly enjoy interacting with kids, & are hard working. The aftercare program is affordable & also great. Our only regret is not having started there in Kindergarten. We transferred from a highly toted local blue ribbon school & haven't looked back for an instant! Best decision we ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

Greenmount has been an incredible experience for my son. The creative, multi-disciplinary curriculum, the quality of teaching and small classes, and the support and warmth of the entire school community, all combine to create a truly unique and wonderful learning environment. The thematic curriculum has enabled my son to explore topics in great depth. He's had the chance to define and explore his interests and understands the relevance of the subject matter in a way that really resonates. He has also gained tremendous confidence--both academically and socially. He loves going to school, tells me he enjoys his homework assignments (!) and is constantly bringing up topics---from science to politics--related to subjects he's studying or that were mentioned in conversations with his teachers and other students. Before he began at Greenmount, I was concerned that the curriculum wasn't going to be rigorous enough. That has not been the case. In addition to receiving the firm grounding he needs in math, science, history, etc., he's also learned to write, speak in public and make connections between complex, abstract concepts. Most importantly, he has discovered that he loves learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

Pros: Close knit welcoming community, socially conscious environment, really sweet kids Cons: Child centered approach means more lax academics. Academics behind city schools (math, for example, is lagging by 1 year)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

We could not have been less happy with this school. Suffice it to say that the school talks a good game about being an open-minded, inclusive community that teaches respect for all people, blah, blah, blah. However, it's not much more than talk. Our child was bullied horribly, and the teachers did nothing to stop it. In fact, when they noticed it all, it was to reprimand our child for responding badly to the bullies. By the time the administration stepped in to deal with the bullies, it was too little too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2013

I joined this school in 6th grade. The teachers are very enthusiastic and try hard to help all of us. The school makes me think for myself and really encourages creativity. GreenMount welcomes students from different backgrounds and with different personalities, and it's cool that everyone can be unique. We do a lot of research, writing, and multi-media presentations and projects.


Posted January 10, 2013

GreenMount's nurturing environment, small class size, accessibility to teachers/staff, and parent involvement have made for a great educational experience for our son. As part of the first K class 5 years ago, he only wishes the school went through high school. The K is a great mix of academic learning and social skills development. AND, the K teacher is awesome! All the educators at GMS are committed to their profession and to being in an environment where they can be creative and teach our children on many levels without having to teach to the test. The theme-based curriculum offers opportunities to delve deep into a subject, explore creativity, through art, music and academics, and gives meaning to what the students learn. Educating the "whole" child in my opinion is a hallmark of the GreenMount School, and its philosophy and teaching practices work to create "learners not just the learned." This kind of learning can be applied to any discipline and students graduate with important skills they can use beyond their education. The proof is in the comments we hear from high schools our former students attend and from the students themselves about their time at GMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

WONDERFUL,WONDERFUL school! The Kindergarten teacher is the most amazing teacher and ANY child would be blessed to be in class with her.


Posted April 22, 2010

The school has an awesome sense of community that is hard to find at other schools. The teachers are phenomenal and the kids are learning real-world stuff as opposed to being taught to pass a state test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Small class sizes, parents are part of the classroom, creative teaching, theme-based....my dream school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

The Kindergarten teacher is the most engaged and dynamic educator I've ever met. She teaches kids to learn through experience and I am always amazed at how she gets the kids to follow along.


Posted May 15, 2008

The school is designed to challenge the children. The school is committed to teaching, challenging, and most importantly invoking creativity. For example, a noted children's author Nancy Patz ( you can look her up) held a writing workshop for the eight graders. This workshop resulted in the eigth grader writing, illustrating, and yes PUBLISHING three children books. This is the kind of place that you want your child to belong to; Where he/she challenged to expect and achieve success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

We enrolled our daughter at GreenMount starting in 6th grade, coming from a fine public school in Baltimore County. I'm so glad we did. Her teachers not only expect the kids to do their best, but show them how. The small class size means that kids are engaged in learning (no hiding out, or waiting while the teacher focuses elsewhere). The relationship between teachers and students, and among the students, are respectful, focused on learning, and the engagement among the middle schoolers is genuine. Themed studies are an important method for the students to investigate ideas, information, and competing perspectives. The school lives and teaches the core values for building and tending a diverse community. We could not be happier with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 45%
Black 14% 40%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Asian 5% N/A
Hispanic 5% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 W 30th Street
Baltimore, MD 21211
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 235-6295

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Baltimore Lab School
Baltimore, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT