Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
96 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Greenmount School 2

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
The variable quality of the instruction is maddening. In the lower grades (K-5) there are some phenomenal teachers. In the upper grades, there is some excellent math instruction and some solid and thoughtfully taught language arts. The major projects assigned in the upper grades, though, are often vaguely worded and poorly thought out, and while they may not accomplish much educationally, they sure can suck up a lot of time. Major administrative decisions (changing class schedules, dumping an affordable aftercare program, reorganizing staff and faculty) seem to be made with little or no input from parents or even board members --- which would be less worrisome if the decisions suggested any sort of vision. The school isn't bad, but in many aspects it is baffling.

The Greenmount School 2

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
The GreenMount School was wonderful and had an exemplary and talented staff, but the newly appointed Head of School seems to be running the school into the gutter with incomprehensible hiring and firing decisions and a management style not suited to the philosophy of the school and it's community. She fired a highly competent music teacher and hired a laughable one, fired a fantastic and knowledgeable science teacher who all the kids and parents adore, and made one of the most brilliant and astounding math teachers who again, kids and parents adore, part time, and eliminated the after care program without ANY discussion with parents and is instituting yet another zany idea. Now the Assistant Head of School who was oh so amazing, is leaving because she's reconfigured her job in a bizarre fashion! She also did away with the yearly Parent Climate Survey, so parents have absolutely no way to voice their deep discontent. This year she instituted a class schedule that none of the kids can follow, where they have classes at fluctuating times during the week, rather than a class that meets at the same time all week, and they spend close to two hours in transitions. Parents are flabbergasted by what's happening to the school under her leadership, yet have no means of being heard.


The Greenmount School 3

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
The teachers in the primary school (K-5) are excellent but then there's a big dip. The middle school is a huge disappointment both from an academic and pedagogic standpoint. The school does have a good publicity machine though. In their literature and online presence they emphasize "community" and the fact that it is a "parent co-op." This may have been true when the school was founded but is absolutely not the case now. Given Baltimore's lack of decent school choices, Greenmount is not a bad school but certainly nothing to write home about.

The Greenmount School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
Most of the middle school teachers are pretty bad. All of the elementary school teachers are phantastic.

The Greenmount School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
The elementary school was wonderful. I wouldn't recommend the Middle School, because of one teacher's projects that are too difficult. Homework for his classes is miserable even for top students. It's like being in boot camp every day and on the weekends. The rest of staff is excellent. Parents and students criticize him every year, but nothing changes. The feel of the school since we started is changing, which makes me sad. Parents used to have the means to yearly comment on what was going on in the classroom, staff skill and what content was being taught, but that's been mysteriously done away with.


The Greenmount School 2

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
All the talk of a "child centered" education appears to be completely hollow. They were very unwelcoming to my son. I also thought they were way behind the curve in terms of professional development. It's not a place I would send my child.

The Greenmount School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
Some of the teachers at Greenmount aren't that bad. However, it is extremely clear that the middle school teachers pick favorite and scapegoats. Some of the teachers are bullies.

The Greenmount School 1

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
I was bullied out of this school by both the teachers and the students. All the talk about inclusiveness and community is just a gigantic hoax. The teachers reprimanded me for asking questions. I was scapegoat, constantly not given a chance to succeed, being blamed for everything wrong, even though I was getting good grades. The administration was unorganized and unhelpful, only noticing I was being severely bullied to punish me for not handling it correctly. The best choice I ever made was not coming back for a second year


The Greenmount School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
We moved to Baltimore City February, 2014 and enrolled our 3rd grader in Roland Park Elementary School because it was the "best" public school in Baltimore. Huge mistake for our family! Roland Park did not how to accommodate mid year transfers, teachers wouldn't return phone calls or emails, my child became in her words: invisible. The best thing that has happened to her is GreenMount School. Welcoming, accommodating, helpful, nurturing. I can't tell you how much I appreciate the parent teacher communication. The new Principal is outstanding, personally returns emails and welcomes the children individually. We did not come from Private school background or mentality and I must say this was a phenomenal switch for all of us. Our child is being treated with respect and celebrated for her own talents. Her challenges are being identified and worked on class by class. This theme based educational approach is outstanding! Thank you GreenMount for meeting our child's needs.

The Greenmount School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
This is a great schools for kids and parents who want to be engaged in a progressive academic atmosphere. The teachers go out of their way to make subjects interesting and find lots of innovative ways to get the kids questioning and talking. The school also encourages social responsibility and global thinking. I can't think of another school, no matter the tuition, that does it any better!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Greenmount School
501 West 30th Street, Baltimore, MD  21211
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (410) 235-6295
Last modified The Greenmount School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top