Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Greenmount School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
We moved to Baltimore City February, 2014 and enrolled our 3rd grader in Roland Park Elementary School because it was the "best" public school in Baltimore. Huge mistake for our family! Roland Park did not how to accommodate mid year transfers, teachers wouldn't return phone calls or emails, my child became in her words: invisible. The best thing that has happened to her is GreenMount School. Welcoming, accommodating, helpful, nurturing. I can't tell you how much I appreciate the parent teacher communication. The new Principal is outstanding, personally returns emails and welcomes the children individually. We did not come from Private school background or mentality and I must say this was a phenomenal switch for all of us. Our child is being treated with respect and celebrated for her own talents. Her challenges are being identified and worked on class by class. This theme based educational approach is outstanding! Thank you GreenMount for meeting our child's needs.

The Greenmount School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
This is a great schools for kids and parents who want to be engaged in a progressive academic atmosphere. The teachers go out of their way to make subjects interesting and find lots of innovative ways to get the kids questioning and talking. The school also encourages social responsibility and global thinking. I can't think of another school, no matter the tuition, that does it any better!


The Greenmount School 5

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
Can't say enough good things about the GreenMount School. It's an exciting, lovingly nurturing, & creative place to go to school. Fantastic administration, imaginative & delightful staff, who are smart, warm, open, insightful, & always very responsive to parent input. I've found them to be right on top of issues like bullying, & inappropriate behavior, so a safe & supportive environment is maintained for all, & the development of social intelligence & character development, as well as academic achievement, is addressed in both classroom & whole school team building activities. The curriculum is expansive, highly creative & fun. We adore the school, & it's been a transformative & extremely positive experience for our daughter, who has blossomed there. She loves coming to school each day. Everyone from the Head of School to the office staff are kind, helpful & clearly enjoy interacting with kids, & are hard working. The aftercare program is affordable & also great. Our only regret is not having started there in Kindergarten. We transferred from a highly toted local blue ribbon school & haven't looked back for an instant! Best decision we ever made!

The Greenmount School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
Greenmount has been an incredible experience for my son. The creative, multi-disciplinary curriculum, the quality of teaching and small classes, and the support and warmth of the entire school community, all combine to create a truly unique and wonderful learning environment. The thematic curriculum has enabled my son to explore topics in great depth. He's had the chance to define and explore his interests and understands the relevance of the subject matter in a way that really resonates. He has also gained tremendous confidence--both academically and socially. He loves going to school, tells me he enjoys his homework assignments (!) and is constantly bringing up topics---from science to politics--related to subjects he's studying or that were mentioned in conversations with his teachers and other students. Before he began at Greenmount, I was concerned that the curriculum wasn't going to be rigorous enough. That has not been the case. In addition to receiving the firm grounding he needs in math, science, history, etc., he's also learned to write, speak in public and make connections between complex, abstract concepts. Most importantly, he has discovered that he loves learning.

The Greenmount School 4

Posted September 16, 2013
- a parent
Pros: Close knit welcoming community, socially conscious environment, really sweet kids Cons: Child centered approach means more lax academics. Academics behind city schools (math, for example, is lagging by 1 year)


The Greenmount School 1

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
We could not have been less happy with this school. Suffice it to say that the school talks a good game about being an open-minded, inclusive community that teaches respect for all people, blah, blah, blah. However, it's not much more than talk. Our child was bullied horribly, and the teachers did nothing to stop it. In fact, when they noticed it all, it was to reprimand our child for responding badly to the bullies. By the time the administration stepped in to deal with the bullies, it was too little too late.

The Greenmount School 5

Posted March 30, 2013
- a community member
I joined this school in 6th grade. The teachers are very enthusiastic and try hard to help all of us. The school makes me think for myself and really encourages creativity. GreenMount welcomes students from different backgrounds and with different personalities, and it's cool that everyone can be unique. We do a lot of research, writing, and multi-media presentations and projects.

The Greenmount School 5

Posted January 10, 2013
- a parent
GreenMount's nurturing environment, small class size, accessibility to teachers/staff, and parent involvement have made for a great educational experience for our son. As part of the first K class 5 years ago, he only wishes the school went through high school. The K is a great mix of academic learning and social skills development. AND, the K teacher is awesome! All the educators at GMS are committed to their profession and to being in an environment where they can be creative and teach our children on many levels without having to teach to the test. The theme-based curriculum offers opportunities to delve deep into a subject, explore creativity, through art, music and academics, and gives meaning to what the students learn. Educating the "whole" child in my opinion is a hallmark of the GreenMount School, and its philosophy and teaching practices work to create "learners not just the learned." This kind of learning can be applied to any discipline and students graduate with important skills they can use beyond their education. The proof is in the comments we hear from high schools our former students attend and from the students themselves about their time at GMS.


The Greenmount School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a community member
WONDERFUL,WONDERFUL school! The Kindergarten teacher is the most amazing teacher and ANY child would be blessed to be in class with her.

The Greenmount School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
The school has an awesome sense of community that is hard to find at other schools. The teachers are phenomenal and the kids are learning real-world stuff as opposed to being taught to pass a state test.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Greenmount School
501 West 30th Street, Baltimore, MD  21211
(410) 235-6295
Last modified The Greenmount School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
The Greenmount School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top