Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
96 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Greenmount School 5

Posted May 28, 2016
- a parent
The GreenMount school has been an absolutely wonderful experience for my child and the teaching staff has been utterly incredible. The Math and Language Arts Education in particular are tip top. The faculty is extremely kind and super nurturing.

The Greenmount School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
The school has character education classes from K-8, service learning and other programs which help develop and instill these values in our students.


The Greenmount School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
The school has character education classes from K-8, service learning and other programs which help develop and instill these values in our students.

The Greenmount School 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
GMS has been a 5-star school for us. It has changed over time, which is not necessarily a bad thing. There is, though, a lack of transparency and back and forth communication that in the past was open and encouraged. Noticeably absent are weekly head of school communications, parent/teacher curriculum committee, year-end survey (which was way too long = low reply rate, then rethink it!). The many staff changes underway, including that of our admissions director, a longtime GMSer, with only a letter to communicate this has parents rightfully concerned. The comment the lower school is great while the upper school is not, does not hold true for our experience. It is rigorous and there is a learning curve making 6th grade a challenge, but my child is now able to delve into a subject, debate and critically think through both sides of an issue, write a comprehensive /informed paper, time manage a project, and even find something deemed "uninteresting" actually is interesting. Special programs round out student's experience: service learning, study skills, camping trips, apprenticeships, and an 8th grade trip (Costa Rica canceled without much communication, but thanks to 8th grade parents a trip to Utah turned out great, yay parents!) For a school that doesn't do high stakes testing our students test very well, get admitted to the high schools of their choice, and more importantly excel. Unique, a bit quirky, affordable, parent involved, this is what has drawn diverse families to GMS. While change happens and can be good, if the long held culture and mission of GMS becomes more about the school building, milking parents for money (which seems escalate each year) while voices are being stilled, the question is: will we become just another private school? That would absolutely break my heart.

The Greenmount School 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
as a parent of a child at Greenmount I was directed to this site by another parent to see what is going on. I am appalled to see what is clearly open warfare between factions at the school. I was told it was parents against the leadership. This was a great school but it is clearly headed in the wrong direction and no one is in charge.


The Greenmount School 3

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Be sure to scroll down and view all of the entries. The ones from and around May 19 all sound suspiciously like the official GreenMount line. The school is experiencing a lot of strife right now.

The Greenmount School 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
From small class sizes to Theme Based Learning, The GreenMount School sets itself apart from other schools. My Kindergarten aged son has gained confidence over the past eight months as well as astounded me with his classroom learning. He is learning the fundamentals of math, science and language arts. But I also see him developing an inclusive world view and strong sense of community. I look forward to next seven years at GreenMount.

The Greenmount School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
All students learn about a world that extends far beyond the four walls of the classroom. Through theme studies and teacher developed curricula, students have a chance to apply what they learn to the real world. Older students apply the empathy they've developed in Capstone service learning projects.


The Greenmount School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
GreenMount integrates Four Pillars of Character Education into its curriculum: Academic, Community, Civility and Integrity. These are more than just lip service. Students and faculty hold each other accountable to these pillars to help the children grow into solid community members both in and out of school.

The Greenmount School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
As part of the Four Pillars of Character Education, students are encouraged to be active listeners, respect other's time and space, take care of community property, be inclusive, treat others with courtesy. The strong character traits show through in the children's behavior and how they interact with others.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Greenmount School
501 West 30th Street, Baltimore, MD  21211
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. (410) 235-6295
Last modified The Greenmount School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top