Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Curtis Bay Elementary School

Public | PK-8 | 541 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2014

I attended this school, and all three of my children attended this school as well. The school is in need of renovation and repairs. However the staff is amazing, minus the principal, I would send my nieces and nephews to this school. The new principal is not good at talking to parents. I have been disrespected by her for standing up for a child that was not mine. I think you would want you parents to be happy because we have the voice to make things happen from North Ave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

One question on a complaint form is . Can your child defend themselves LMFAO is this a school or a penitentiary ? Before your kid goes to Curtis Bay send them to self defense class. F%$#%g joke
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

Great with the children; the teachers are truly motiveted to help the students reach their full potential. My gr'daughter's teacher has even called her at home since she has missed days from her GI condition. They have a neat gymnastics team that has really improved over the years. Students are encouraged in sports as well as arts and activities despite all the budget cuts.


Posted May 16, 2013

I have asked to meet with the principal before christmas and still have not received a response.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

overall i have to give this school two thumbs up my kids have been attenting this school since head start i do believe that thw teachers should challenge the smarter kids to harder work but as a parent if i see my child excel at a faster pace I challenge them at home but i would like to see a program there for gifted students or advanced students ....ms avery (the principal) is amazing she always addresses any issues that we (the parents) or the children has iv'e had a few problems im not saying that they are perfect but ill just say that my kids attended one other city school for about 2 weeks and i snatched them out so quick because i would have been taking them back an entire grade if i would have left them there so overall i love the school for it to be a city public school i think that they do A OK
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I am extremely pleased with the staff and family of Curtis Bay elementary! My children absolutely love it there! I now have all three of my children in that school 2nd grade, 1st grade and Pre-K! The teachers are great with the students and just the overall school gets a great review from me!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

This is a great school so far especially mrs .Matson and ms.Moore class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers in this school are amazing!!! The classes aren't too big so the children get more one on one time. It is just a small school but it is a wonderful school. they say dynamite comes in small packages, that's Curtis Bay Elementary!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

I love this school. My daughter also loved this school. If i told her not to go school due to sick, she would mad at me UNTIL she can go back to school. I would register my son there too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

This school is on the rise! Despite reservations to send my child to a city school, I have found the curriculum and staff to be above board. The school if full of dedicated, caring, and qualified staffmembers that consistantly go above and beyond the title of thier particular position. Many new changes to the school this year- new playgrounds & landscaping, classrooms, & programs. The only drawback I have observed(besides general lack of funding apparant in all Baltimore city schools) is the lack of support the school is given by the parenting community. Get involved no matter where your cild goes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

Curtis Bay is not the outstanding school that some would claim it to be. Since my child has been attending this school I have noticed a slight decline in his behavioral habits. The communication between the staff and parents are way below average. I dont feel like its a good environment for a child to be in I would think twice a about having my child attend this school another year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

My son has been in this school for several yrs now. From head start to now 2003, and I couldn t ask for a better school. The principals are great! And the commutation there is also good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 46% 35%
White 46% 42%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4301 West Bay Ave
Baltimore, MD 21225
Phone: (410) 396-1397

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Christian Bible Academy
Brooklyn Park, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT