Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Curtis Bay Elementary School 1

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
My family have sent 4 children there. It was a good school but it is lost now. I have decided to homeschool my son because of the treatment of this school and his teacher. I pray that organization and priorities get put back in place for this school. This school need help the children left there will need help as well.

Curtis Bay Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
I would like to thank my sons ex teacher Ms. Brian Elliott for making my decision to homeschool my son very easy. And for breaking the trust I have for teachers and whom every handles my son. Thank you and I forgive you, but I won't forget.


Curtis Bay Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Very ineffective at teaching but very effective in displine. I asked my sons teacher for more challenging work and got no response. But she could take it upon herself to displine my child. She need to know her place.

Curtis Bay Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
My son is in the first grade and the sight words he was given is the same sight words from pre-k thru kindergarten.

Curtis Bay Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
No I think this school develops frustration, anger, insecurity, and labels upon the students, and parents.


Curtis Bay Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
I don't think so. You have to give respect to receive it. And I don't believe that the school respects all the children. They only respect the one they like.

Curtis Bay Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely not it is more about discipline, and kids having time in the reflection room, which is also said to be the time out room, or interrogation room.

Curtis Bay Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
It is hard to teach what you don't display. The only thing honest is the attitude you receive from the administration.


Curtis Bay Elementary School 4

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
my daughter is in 1st grade and her teacher ms.g is awesome.she always texts me back when I have a question.she is always up beat.her students love her.she will be missed by my child and I when the school year is over.i wish my child could have her next year for 2nd grade.i am pleased to have my child going to Curtis bay.i had a child that went to bay brook and let's just say he never liked it there but only for his 4th and 5th grade year.i feel that the school has tried the best they can.they've made mistakes but no 1 school is perfect.they can only improve in my opinion.i've had very few problems with Curtis Bay.ask yourself what school doesn't have it's querks.as long as they can learn from it then it's all good.i'm happy to be a parent that child attends Curtis Bay Elementary School

Curtis Bay Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
I have an autistic 5th grader currently enrolled in this school. When we moved here three years ago, I originally had misgivings about enrolling him here--his last school (Maree Farring, #203) had recommended institutionalizing him, and I expected the same from CBEMS. Three years after starting there, he is now reading at his grade level, and doing grade level math at 75% accuracy, his teacher Ms. Amberger writes 'a joy to teach' on his progress reports and has strenuously objected to his prior classification at his previous school as a candidate for institutionalization. Although I no longer work in the area, I have elected to deal with a 2 hour commute to work rather than relocate and remove my son from this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Curtis Bay Elementary School
4301 West Bay Ave, Baltimore, MD  21225
(410) 396-1397
Last modified Curtis Bay Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Curtis Bay Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top