Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
Thank you Ms. Williamson and Ms. Patrick (Pre-K teachers) for being bright spots in such a disappointing school. They need you both desperately.

Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
Pre-K- 1st is given homework every night even holidays. These little ones are overwhelmed. I tutor 6th graders who don't get as much homework as my 1st grader does.


Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
To teach respect you must show respect. Many of these teachers are yelling their way through the school year. There is a difference between disciplining with a stern voice and yelling at the top of your lungs.

Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted July 06, 2015
- a community member
The teachers that are around the students build character in each student whether they like it or not.

Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted July 06, 2015
- a community member
My child has been at this school for 6 years and saw a major change within her work effort and I believe its the teachers. Especially Ms Scipio,Ms Marvin, and Ms Vance


Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 06, 2015
- a community member
The teachers push the students pass the point and make them strive for advancement. They give the students motivation to want to do better even if that student does not want to do better.

Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School 1

Posted June 26, 2014
- a community member
This school is out of control im going to 8th this year and im not going back the staff is great but the kids are out of control with the 7th and 8th grade i was a great student and i just cant take anymore but the staff are wonderful

Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted November 21, 2013
- a community member
This is the best school ever. I attend it right now. I am a 7th grade student, and i love all my teachers and my princapal. They all do what ever is best for all the students to help us learn. And if we are having trouble they may pull groups to help them better understand.


Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted December 15, 2011
- a community member
I used to go to this school back in 2003. I was the only child in my class who smiled and was generally playful. The teachers always treated me with such kindness. This was a nice school, the only downside was the way the other kids treated me. You could call it bullying, but bullying has never bothered me. So this school was a good experience, other than the kids' attitudes and the food in the school cafeteria.

Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School 1

Posted December 02, 2011
- a parent
I have a son in the first grade and a son in the third grade at dickeyhill. The first chance I get, I'm transferring my children out. My children are failing, but never once have I received anything from the teachers saying that they need help. My son brings home division homework and never was taught multiplication. I can go on forever, its the worst. I'm so stressed and disgusted with this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School
5025 Dickey Hill Rd, Baltimore, MD  21207
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (410) 396-0610
Last modified Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top