Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edgecombe Circle Elementary School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2012

EDGECOMBE CIRCLE WILL ALLWAYS HOLD A VERY, SPECIAL PLACE IN MY SOUL. I MOVED TO THE EDGECOMBE AREA IN 1979 WHEN I WAS 9....I MET THE BEST FRIENDS OF MY LIFE IN THAT SCHOOL AND IN THAT COMMUNITY. BACK THEN THE TEACHERS WERE GOOD...MS. LEGGETTE, MS. BROWN, MS. REED. MS. UZZLE...EVEN MR. STEPHENS.....R.I.P. MS. WELCH.....I EVEN MET MY WIFE LATER ON IN THAT SAME COMMUNITY SO EDGECOMBE AND PARK HEIGHTS WILL ALLWAYS HOLD A VERY CLOSE PLACE IN MY HEART...EDGECOMBE WILL ALLWAYS BE HOME ....NO MATTER WHERE I GO IN THE WORLD....MUCH LOVE.


Posted April 29, 2011

This school isn't bad, the kids are bad. When I went I was a goo student with a talent, drawing. The teachers encouraged me to improve on my talents and I will go far. I'm now a portrait artist at the age 15 thanks to the teaching and encouragement, don't blame this school for anything. Teach your kids not to be fools in school, if they want to be fools stay at home with you people. Be a PARENT.


Posted April 13, 2011

first of all its nothing wrong with this school it start at HOME when you send them to school we the people who is up here try to help but if they terrible at home then how you think they gonna act in school so it statrs at home thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

This school is terrible. This is my sons first year (he is in 2nd grade) at this school and it is horrible. There is no discipline on the part of the teachers and the students. The kids run wild literally. The teachers are always hanging out in the office when they are supposed to be teaching or monitoring the students. The teachers are always calling out and they have no substitutes. I took my son to school one day for breakfast and the kids were standing outside the cafeteria door banging on the door and there was no one there to let them in. they only get 15 minutes to eat so someone should be there on time. Parents have to work just like the teachers do so we can't always be there to assist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

I like the teachers and the only thing they need is more parents around to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I think this school is a horrible. The students are not held accountable for the dress code. They are allowed to cured, run the halls without a conseqence. They are not treated with respect with maybe way they are acting out. Some of the teachers dont care whether or not the students succeed.My child started their an A student and excited to go to school everyday. This school has robbed my child of her eagernest to learn and follow positive behaviors. There are no incentives for the students who are willing to do the right thing. Teachers do not respect the parents nor the students and have a 'I dont care attitude. The example starts from the top.It is disheartning that this school rates a 2 however I would not be surprised if it was a 0! We need (the adults-parents, teachers,administration) to get it to gather. for the sake of
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

This school is by far the worst, My daughter attended the school a few years ago . The staff members do not want to take accounability for any issues.that arise . My daughter was labeled at this school however she is now an A student at her current school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

This schoo is TERRIBLE. I have been consistantly dissatisfied. I would not recomment this school to another parent.d and this is the WORST! You have to want to teacher because you want to make a difference... not a dollar!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

My daughters attended this school for three years. The teachers are good and some are excellent. Resources are very limited and parent involvement is low. But the teachers make the best out of what the parents and state and city government contribute, which is close to nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

My grandchild have enrolled in your school because her Mom live near your school. She is coming in from LeithWalk Elem. I was looking in your Parent Review section and I was very disapointed that there are no comments in this section.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 35%
White 2% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2835 Virginia Ave
Baltimore, MD 21215
Phone: (410) 396-0550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



KIPP Harmony
Baltimore, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT