Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bethlehem Christian Day School

Private | K-8 | 87 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $89,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2011

As a former student of Bethlehem, I just would like to say that this was and will probably always be the best school I ever went to. The principal is caring and individually takes the time to talk to students. You walk down the hallways and the teachers know your name. You're not just a face, or another student. Everyone takes the time to individually know the students. The educational aspect is also wonderful. I was prepared and very ahead of most of the other students when I became a freshman. English, math, science, history, religion, physical education, you name it, Bethlehem excels in it. This is a wonderful school in a somewhat bad location, but the students are always safe and are always challenged and happy. This is overall a wonderful, worthwhile school.


Posted April 14, 2010

The principal is top of the line. The teachers care for the children. I know what my child is doing all the time. The school lacks in extracurricular activities but makes up for it with many fairs and parties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

I will assume that because some of these reviews are 18 to 24 mos old that some drastic changes have taken place in regards to the extra-curriculum activities. I have a kindergardener - who is absolutely elated! I am pleased with all that she is able to come home and discuss from 'Jesus' Time to reading and writing in addition to her weeks that she alternates between Art and Computer Lab in grade K! she also has PE and will be going on her first field trip on 10/8 - so apparently things have changed since the other parents that reviewed this school had a child in attendance - this school is wonderful and is producing a well rounded, socially aware (there is an assigned international charity to give to), articulate person. Thanks BCDS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

My child has attended for several years now, and I feel there are some areas that are definitely lacking. Although the staff has a caring nature and concern for the students this is a quality that should be considered a requirement for anyone in this profession and not just chance. The lack of viable programs in PE, Art, Music, & outside activities to reinforce their learning and offering variety to the students is allowing our children miss out on other areas outside of classroom instruction that could very well be viable to the long-term success of our students and the decision they make about what they decide to do with their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

I have two children attending BCDS. All of the staff, to include the principal are very caring and support the teaching of Christian values. The school does not provide sufficient education in such areas as art, music, and physical education. Parent involvement is emphasized and this allows an opportunity for parents to become involved with school activities. As my oldest prepares to leave BCDS I will began to see how well the school prepared my child for high school and eventually college. Overall, I would rate my experience with BCDS as good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2006

I think the overall atmosphere of the school was a wonderful experience for my child but academically the school failed my child. My daughter attended kindergarten and first grade at BCDS and I feel she did not receive the tools she needed to go to the next grade. They felt comfortable passing her unto the next grade when she is not even completely reading on her current grade level and I feel that is how child start to fall behind when they are just passed along. The school does not offer coach classes or tutoring sessions and weren't helpful directing me in the right direction to get my child help. They offered to get an older student to help her with her reading but they never followed through with that suggestion. They were more concerned about the children being in uniforms and sneakers rather than what the children were learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2005

This school does not display the number of children per class correctly, from kindergarten to fourth grade there are at times at least 19-29 children per teacher. The availbility of special classes(ie: music, art, pe) was rarely avalible thoughout the year. Therefore the number of childern per teacher can not be accurate.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted January 27, 2005

BCDS is great school from top to bottom. The principal Mrs. Moore and staff are wonderful. They take great pride in ensuring your child is successful and empowered with the word of God. My child has been there since second grade and truly excelled in her education and social skills. This is a school full of dedicated staff and parents. The Parents are very involved in school events.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 93% 35%
White 5% 42%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • ACSI
  • NAEYC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4815 Hamilton Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21206
Phone: (410) 488-8963

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT