Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Federal Hill Preparatory School

Public | PK-5 | 322 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

My school is an undiscovered gem in Baltimore. It is as close to a private school as you can get and still be public and free! We are small in size but large in accomplishments. We are teaching an urban population to become a global society. We not only touch the future we shape the future.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2014

My children have excelled at this school. My oldest child has scored in the 99th percentile in Math on standardized test and high in reading too. My youngest has thrived in this school in terms of behavior and learning in a way he didn't when he went to a private preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Federal Hill Prep is a great community school! I confess we were considering other options given what we'd seen and heard about the direction the school had taken, but with the new principal starting in 2013, the school has really changed for the better. I can see that our child is learning a great deal, and the teachers are passionate about their jobs and are very caring. Overall I notice an environment that fosters curiosity and creativity. And the very strong PTO and community involvement really makes the school welcoming. Plus, the school is so small it seems that teachers and staff know each and every student. Finally, they have a great deal of activities that make school fun: from the Green Eggs & Ham Breakfast, to Science Night, Bingo and more. I would recommend this school; a hidden gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

Federal Hill Prep is a great place. We recently moved to Baltimore and have been extremely happy with the number of cultural activities, field trips and education opportunities that have been made available to our students. The teachers and administrators care about the success of each student and will listen to and address any concerns you have with instruction, environment, staff, etc. And they are getting a salad bar! It's a great environment with great teachers, students, parents and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

I have two kids at Federal Hill Prep, and have been thrilled with the school. A new principal started in Sept 2013, and she is outstanding. I've also been very impressed by all the teachers my kids have had thus far. The school has done a suberb job rolling out the new common core curriculum this year. Federal Hill Prep takes a whole child approach, and recognizes that academics, while important, are only one part of a child's education. The school emphasizes arts integration and has great music and physical education programs as well. There's a well organized afterschool enrichment program, with a coordinator who arranges for programs such as language classes, yoga, art and various sports. The student body is very diverse, with kids from many race/ethnicities and income levels. The school only goes up to grade 5 now, so doesn't have the problems that come with middle school students. Federal Hill Prep partners with Experience Corp to bring more adults into the classrooms, and also has a coach from the Playworks program. My kids are thriving at Federal Hill Prep, both academically and socially, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

we have been very happy with Federal Hill prep. New Principal is AMAZING and does a FANTASTIC job. Excellent teachers and and excellent programs. After care programs are also great with nanolab down the road. Please make sure you take a tour because you will be nicely surprised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

Great school in a Great neighborhood very happy with staff/teachers/principal our child is happy and learning every single day, would like to recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

New Principal does a great job! School is changing for good, we have been very happily surprised by the new changes. School is in good hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

The school is very poorly managed and operated. I feel sorry for the kids that are sent to this school with such a poor environment and a principal that doesn't take the time out of her day to call back, when messages are left.


Posted January 1, 2014

I wish i can say that the school is good ,I have two kids in there my doughter was facing a bulling kids there ,and no action from the school to stop the bulling kids ,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

I am very pleased with Federal Hill Prep this year. I have been a parent at Federal Hill Prep for 6 years so I have experienced the ups and downs over the past few years first hand. The changes in administration 3 years ago negatively effected the morale of the school and changed the curriculum by removing the Advanced Academic program. The new Principal is embracing the Common Core Curriculum and is moving the school forward in academics, morale, and in physical improvements to the school. Yes, there have been some additional rules placed on uniforms and visitation to the building, but these have been put in place to increase the safety of our children and to add structure to a program that had become lax over the past few years. I see the school returning to its former position as a great public school option for city residents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

I am a parent my girls have been going here for three years now I love the school and most of the teachers the principle I do not care for she is very mean and does not know how to talk to the children she has a very belittling demeanor about her my first issue with her is the children cant wear boots lady really its winter then they cant wear colorful stockings and they cant wear sweaters if no logo it winter kids get sick miss days then questions about wear they are. the last straw was combing the forth grade he is a young teacher most of the kids do not listen to him which will cause students to fall back that want to learn it is over thirty students in the class very disappointed my oldest daughter honor roll two years straight now her grades are dropping very disappointing I WILL BE CALLING THE SCHOOL BOARD
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

FHP is a pre-k thorugh 5th grade school in the heart of Baltimore City. With caring teachers and a very active PTO, it is a great local public school choice for parents choosing to stay living in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2013

I'm very disappointed in this school's decline. The new administration does not respond to parent concerns in the upper grades and many family who could leave have. Many teacher are very good but some are poor and the risk just isn't worth it in the upper grades. But the lower grade teachers are awesome! The principal does not seem to understand what it means to be an elementary school administrator and the test scores show it. My kids will not be back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

I have been more than pleased with the kindergarden program. My daughter loves the school and the teachers. The principal is very involved in the classrooms and always willing to talk to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

When we moved to Baltimore last summer, I almost chose to live in the suburbs to make sure my child could go to a great school. I'm so glad that someone told me about Federal Hill Prep! I have been amazed with this school! Amazing principle, teachers, and huge parent involvement. I would say it feels more like a private school education, minus the expense. My daughter has thrived in this environment and is now reading far above her grade level and loves learning here. Federal Hill is a great area and will continue to thrive with this level of commitment to its schools and neighborhood. We pay more to live here, but it is worth it to know that my kids can for sure attend this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

FHPS has a dynamic new principal who is keeping all of the best and reforming the rest. Federal Hill has always been one of the best school in South Baltimore and now Ms. Barnes is ready to shake off the dust and bring the school to the next level. This is a safe, rigorous, engaging neighborhood school with a caring staff and great facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2010

My observations as a parent are consistent with the MSA results: a slightly worse than average city school, a moderately worse than average Maryland school. #584 out of 831. http://www.schooldigger.com/go/MD/schoolrank.aspx?sortexp=LCITY&sortdir=a&findletter=B
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I love Federal Hill Elementary because the staff is caring and understand the needs of our kids. My son grades have improved and he is now on hornor roll. I rate this school a five star:) Keep up the good work Federal Hill
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

This is one of the best schools in Baltimore City. The Principal is a no nonsense type of woman. She is firm and lovable. She runs a tight ship. The students are thriving. The PTO is excellent. My son is an honor student. Test scores are pretty goo. It's a multi cultural school. You have Black, White, Asian , and many students from other countries like Turkey, Greece, Ethopia and more, I LOVE THIS SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 66% 35%
White 27% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1040 William St
Baltimore, MD 21218
Phone: (410) 396-1207

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT