Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Center For Creative Learning

Private | PK-4 | 112 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $85,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

Center for Creative Learning is an excellent school. The teachers and staff expect excellence from the children and encourage the children to do their best, My son has shown tremendous growth in six months and is beginning to read in pre-k. The tuition is affordable and the children are taught important principles such as determination, honor and faith. I intend to send my son to the school until he completes the fifth grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Center for Creative Learning is an excellent school. We offer Breakfast, lunch and a snack.I really don't know of any school in this area that offers these meals, that is included in the tuition. We nurture the students as well as teach them. We challenge the students in all areas in academics. When students leave our school they are well advanced in their particular grade,and they continue to do well and make the honor roll, WE LOVE AND CARE about all of our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2010

Our son has attended this school since August 2008. Prior to attending CCL, he attended a 'learn by play' childcare center. Our son has done a complete 180 since he enrolled. His teachers, Mrs. Valdibieso and Ms. Sheffield are amazing. They are nurturing, caring and wonderful educational professionals. We couldn't ask for better teachers for our son. We intend to enroll our daughter in the school. CCL is one of Baltimore's best kept secret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

Our daughter attended CCL and Ms.Fitzgerald was her teacher, words cannot begin to express how we felt about her. Ms Fitzgerald shows her students that they are capable of doing anything they set their little minds to. She was actually the kindergarten teacher but the administrative switched her to Pre-K and we believe that was the best thing for our daughter. Unfortunaely our daughter will not be attending CCL next year b/c of our funds. We are sure that the public school she will be attending in the county she will take all that knowledge that Ms. Fitzgerald has given her. Keep up the GOOD WORK Ms. Fitzgerald and thanks ALOT for caring so much about our kids future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

My daughter attended CCL for Pre-k4 which Mrs. Willis was her teacher. My daughter has learned a lot this pass school year and I thank Mrs. Willis for her dedication of teacher her class the basics for learning. I was going to send my daughter to public school b/c of lack of funds however, I will work it out and send my daughter back to CCL for Kindergarten. Thanks CCL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

My daughter attends CCL and is in her second year. Mrs. Willis is her Pre-K teacher and she is outstanding. My child will be beginning reader soon because the teachers have taught the students the sounds of the letters so they can sound out words. For four year olds I think that is very good. The school has its ups and downs like most schools do but if you take your concerns to the teacher they will be heard. Excellent school that provides home-cooked breakfast, lunch and snack with no additional cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

CCL like any other school has its ups and downs. But, for the cost you can't beat it. I don't know of any christian school that serves students free home-cooked breakfast, lunch and a snack everyday. Also, safety is something that all of us feel everyday. The teachers truly care about the students and the parents that get involved are glad that they did. CCL does need parents to be involved and not just drop their kids off. Any school needs active parent involvement. Every program is christian based and all of the students feel comfortable and loved.


Posted October 13, 2008

My child is currently in her first year of the preschool program at CCL. Her teacher, Mrs. Cox, is outstanding. She works thoroughly with the children on listening skills, language development, and word recognition. Most importantly, she is nurturing and teaches the students how to respect one another and how to work together in a learning community. I would recommend the 3 year old program to anyone looking for a structured, safe, Christian environment that promotes academic growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

My children were enrolled in CCL last year. When my daughter left (2nd grade) she struggled in Math. The school has extremely outdated learning materials and the director has no plans to update them. The pre-k to kindergarten classes are ok, but for the buck, I would choose a good public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

My son has completed his first year of school here. This isn't his first year in a learning environment and I like the school alot compared to other institutes he has been in. I have to agree with other comments that speaking to Mr. Boone doesn't always correct a situation, but I have also found that when people see that you ARE paying attention to your child's education, they will respond accordingly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

My child is currently enrolled in CCL in there 3 year old program. The school has it good days and than there bad days. The teachers are excellent. I would not recommend CCL to anyone because of the administration Mr. Karl Boone he is very unprofessional did not listen to the comments of the parents. It is a family run school, which means all the officials are related so you will not get any where.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

My child has been attending CCL since she was 2years old and she is now in the Pre-K class. The school has its +'s and -'s just like anyother institution of learning. As a parent you have to be envolved with what your child is doing. The staff from the principal to the janitors are nuturing and caring. I recommend CCL as a great start for any child. Unfortunalty they only go to 2nd grade but with the start they receive they will have a good foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

My daughter attended CFCL when she was 3/4yrs old. I took her out of the program because she was not being cared for as I orginally thought. The teachers are often more concerned about being in cliques as opposed to instructing my child. They tend to teach toward the highest level child. I was often inside the classroom volunteering. While there the 4yr olds were pushed into crowded classrooms. If your child was falling behind, it often became your problem. The administration Mr. Carl Boone although professional did not listen to the comments of the parents. He appeared be a part of what seemed to be a family run business where the entire staff was related. I would not recommend that you entrust these individuals with your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2005

My child attended the Summer Camp '05 session and is now enrolled for our first academic year. I was not pleased with the camp;however, was optimist about the school year. To my disappointment, the 3yr old class was very overcrowded, leaving the children in a babysitting clutter. To our relief, after speaking to the principal personally, that class has been split into two groups for academic sessions (not including lunch, gym, etc.) Now our child is learning comfortably and doing well. There is a private dance program available to the children. This just goes to show that parent involvement and open communication can change the environment for the better. Don't just give up on 'our' schools. Constructively fight for the well-fare of them all. CCL is a safe, clean, and christian school. Parents - please get invovled. The children need you and the staff and principal cannot do it alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

My child has been attending this school for 3 years. This is a great school with small class sizes, an active PTA, and a Christian environment. The staff is dedicated and challenges students to learn beyond their levels. The students not only love the school but the parents do too. It is the goal of CCL to enhance the student s overall well being and that s what they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 4%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Pentecostal

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5150 Baltimore National Pike
Baltimore, MD 21229
Phone: (410) 945-0665

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. William of York
Baltimore, MD


St. Agnes School
Baltimore, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT