Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Furman L. Templeton Elementary School

Charter | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2010

Cherry is by far the worst thing to ever happen to this school. There is no consistency or positive motivation for either students or staff. Students run the school and the teachers can't do anything except try to keep up.


Posted October 22, 2009

My children attend FLT and it is better thn the schools in the area. The teachers and staff are caring and involved and they encourage parental involvement my child has been there since the 1st grade and i have a child in K. they have imroved since Mr. Cherry has been there. To improve the other childrens parents need to be there if you cant be there thats cool. You can Call, POP UP and see what your kids are doing. By involved i dont mean there every day but do extra with the school. The children could be more respectful but look at the envionment you can tell the students whos parents are involved because they have respect for authority and school property. Great Job Mr Cherry and Staff and Involved Parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

I believe we have a long way to go, but we need to keep the edison schools involved. We need to meet standards for education, not cleanliness. Cleanliness is important also, but we need to focus on what is going to get our kids on the road to success.I really don't want o move my son to another school, but i need to make sure that the school he attends is meeting standards, and right now, we are not doing that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

i love the school its clean the staff respects one another when the students see the staff on a resectful level they will respect each other the school is also an safe place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

Being a parent of students at Templeton for 7 years I have to say that edison has made huge sccomplisments in this school. This school now have kids wanting to attend school. My daughter juat graduated from there last year. I could not stand that she had to leave. I felt that she was safe there. The teachers at Furman really care about there students. The staff at Furman even helps with my son that does not attend the school. They treat their students and families with respect. I will hold this school up with pride. I am proud to say my kids attended and 2 still attending an Edison School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

Upon returning to live in Baltimore in 2003, my son orginally went to another school within the city. The school was deplorable and the children were out of control. My son was attacked on the playground by some older children and there weren't any adults to supervise them. After, that incident, my son was transferred to Furman L. Templeton and I can honestly say that this school cares about the students. Of course, they have their share of troubled children, that's a given when observing the immediate environment in which these children have to reside in daily. However, it is our duty as caring parents to guide our children and Furman L. Templeton Elementary to assist us in that guidance and educational responsibility. The school has done this so well that I have just enrolled my youngest son and am looking forward to a rewarding and joyful partnership with the school. Thanks for your assitance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

My child has been attending Furman since 2003. Since Mrs. Randall's promotion I have seen a tremendous change throughout the school. For example, it is now mandatory that students wear uniforms to school. Whereas before students wore whatever they wanted. I also think that Mrs. Randall and her behavior management team have taken great strides towards helping many of the children who have behavior problems. They consistently try to contain the disruptive behavior; however, parents need discipline their children at home as well. I honestly think that Furman is a terrific school and it is well on its way to becoming excellent, despite its few flaws. My child learned has learned alot thanks to her wonderful and loving teacher, Ms. Kalamis Maduro. She is one of the best teachers at Furman. Moreover, I do believe that Furman needs to add more extracurricular activities and parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

I think that FLT is a school in need of a new direction. During the winter the heat worked sometimes and now that it's summer we have to deal with extreme heat. The children are out of control. They curse and fight with each other as well as the teachers. They get sent to in school which is a joke. Classes are filled with children that have problems that aren't being properly addressed. A lot of the children will move on to a situation that they are not ready for, because of the fact that they have learning disabilities. I think that the how program needs to be rethought.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted November 3, 2005

My child attend Furman L. Templeton/Edison school. He been there for about 5years now. Since they have promoted Ms.Eveyln Randall for a principal the children are out of control. When a teacher send a student down to the office to be deal with. They turn around and send the student back to the room and tells the teacher you handle it. There are fights everyday at the school. There are a few teachers that really want to help students out but the others don't not care. They are there just to collect a pay check. Their are children attended this school that have behavior problems and on meditation. Some of the teachers have resigning for their job and gone to other schools for piece of mind. I'm tranferring my son out of this trouble school ASAP. I would not recommend any child to attend this school not even a dog.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

Furman l templeton is a good school the students are well being students.The teahers are great with comunicating with the student ny granddaughter has attended Furman for 4 years and I have never seen her grades shoot up like they did.I guess what im trying to say thank you Furman L Templeton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2005

This school is the best school because the teachers and staff cares about the children and the parents. One of my children been there for 3yrs already. I finally got all my children in one school. The reading and math curriculium is great for the slow and fast paced students. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 35%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/A51%
Female 48%N/A49%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 99%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 Pennsylvania Ave
Baltimore, MD 21217
Phone: (410) 396-0882

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT