Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Garrett Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-8 | 441 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

As a teacher I hate to talk about the school system but this school is HORRIBLE. . My son last 2 months of 6th grade his teachers was always absent. He never received homework. . Every time I visit the students were running around, eating food or cussing out each other. Most teachers didn't do anything. They need to revamp the entire school. . Maybe it's the lack of resources but something has to change
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2014

The principal is never in the building, gossips and undermines staff. She has no clue what goes on in the building. The building is filthy, she never leaves her office, and is always on the defensive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

any parent that calls a school that has a great school rating of 2 out of 10 needs to start doing their homework. if you think this school is soo good for your child, you need to read the rating and test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

The school has a very low level. The teachers are not good. In December fired a teacher and put kindergarten kids in to first grade and of the first graders did learned nothing. There is bullying, and children seem very wild. No organization whatsoever. that the school has a two rating. I have to take my son and put him in private. As I did with my daughter. I'm disgusted with this school. The level of that school is bad and these children do not learn anything
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

This is a nice school. Wonderful and bright children and caring teachers. This school is on the rise!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

Im getting my kid out of there ! the kids are very agressive ! i cant trust leaving my kid there anymore ! I think Hamilton school is worst? Im paying private. I 3 grader beat up a little PK?? DISGUSTING ! PARENTS ARE RUDE DRIVING LIKE CRAZY. USING BAD LANGUAGE ! I DONT WANT MY KID TO BE A WILD CHILD !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

GARRETT HEIGHTS ELEMENTARY/MIDDLE SCHOOL HELPED MY DAUGHTER REGAIN HER LOVE FOR SCHOOL AND LEARNING-SHE HAD BEEN THROUGH 2 OTHER SCHOOLS AND HER TEACHER AT GARRETT MRS. ENASARIO REALLY BELIEVED IN HER WHICH HELPED HER BELIEVE IN HERSELF -SHE SACRIFICED SATURDAYS FOR HER AND WAS JUST THE BEST THE WHOLE STAFF AT GARRETT ARE AWESOME EVEN DOWN TO THE VOLUNTEERS MRS. BOWDEN WHO IS MY YOUNGEST DAUGHTER'S TEACHER IS SO PATIENT AND MY DAUGHTER READS SO WELL NOW--I LOOK FORWARD TO NEXT YEAR AT THIS SCHOOL BECAUSE GARRETT HEIGHTS ROCKS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

This school has definitely gone downhill since I attended (class of 2000) . My daughter is in Kindergarten this year and although most of the teachers who have been there for years are great, it is the environment. There really are not a lot of resources for the students and not a lot of activities in terms of focusing on arts, sciences, or math. There is also the issue of not working with the more advanced students or the students that are not up with the rest of the students. They teach them at the same time and pace, which holds the more advanced students back and leaves the ones that need more assistance to catch up quickly. That also goes for students with behavioral problems, instead of separating them from the rest of the students, they hold the class back. I personally do not feel that mixing the elementary students with the middle school students is a good idea, especially when there are issues with profanity around the little ones and bad behavior. I really don't feel like the principal is as up to par as the ones in the past. I am trying to get my child in a charter school next year. This school is better than a lot of city schools, but it is still going downhill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

This school is absolutely a total and utter disaster! Most of the parents in the neighborhood (those who can afford it) send their children to private schools. I wish I had that option. When ever I have an issue I'm always sent to talk to someone other than the principle, I've never met the principle even when I requested. My biggest issue is bullying, which I have complained about for a year and nothing has been done. Problematic children are a big problem at this school as consequences aren't enforced and there doesn't seem to be any order and discipline. The teachers are overwhelmed and unorganized. There doesn't seem to be any leadership at this school. The school while beautiful on the outside is an terrible need of repairs. I will send my child to another school next year. This school has been nothing but a big headache!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

Ever Since Ms.Goodin and Mrs.Ross have to retire. THIS SCHOOL WAS A DISASTER The New principal Ms.OLA-NIYI and asistant Mrs.Muhammmad are trying their best to be great as the previous.. I have A PREDICTION that the school should be inviteing good mannered students.... Even My Children is saying that....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

This school is great my son has been going there since kindergarten and now he is in the 7th grade.Mrs.Goodin is an excellent principal i have known her since my brothers and sisters went there and now they are all grown.I love this school.Ms.tracey
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

Garrett Heights is a solid school. The principal is a strong leader with the children's best interest at heart. While it is not 'perfect' it is safe and orderly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

I know this school is outstanding. It is clean, the teachers are professional. My daughter was on the principal's list for all year. They encourage children to be the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2004

Garrett Heights is indeed one of America's best kept secrets.The principal Yetty Kearney is a very concerned principal and the teachers there go above and beyond.I have visited many schools and none compare to Garrett Heights. You never really know what a jewel you have until you no longer have it .I love Garrett Heights!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 28, 2003

Garrett Heights Elementary School is a school where teachers, parents, and the principal all work together to make the school a better place. The teachers are dedicated and really care about the students. Mrs. Kearney, the principal has been at the school for 12 years and in my opinion is the best thing to happen to an elementary school. We have many different students, from different backgrounds who work together beautifully.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 88% 35%
White 7% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 Ailsa Ave
Baltimore, MD 21214
Phone: (410) 396-6361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT