Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 268

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


George Washington Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2012
- a parent
My children have been attending GWES for 2 years now and I must say I love it. THe class sizes are small because the school itself is small. The teachers pay close attention to the individual student learning and my son learned to read in PRE K. I am thouroughly excited and I feel that they are being properly nurtured and their brains are being developed to the maximum ability. I really like the afterschool program as well. They help with homework so by the time I get off from work and pick them up I only have to review.

George Washington Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2011
- a parent
Principal Rice and her team has turned the school around since the public catastrophy of the previous principal Susan Burgess. Ms. RIce has given her students and staff the confidence to believe in themselves and achieve . My children attend the school and enjoy the various after school clubs, such as the SGA, guitar classes, chess club, basketball and cheerleading. Ms. Rice has also formed the first PTA in years at the school.The school can only get stronger next year.


George Washington Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2010
- a parent
George Washington Elementary school has the greatest principal. Her students are her top priority.

George Washington Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

George Washington Elementary School 2

Posted May 07, 2009
- a community member
This school looks good in comparison to other city schools. In reality, it has much room for improvement. While some faculty and staff strive to provide the best possible education in the least restrictive environment, others rely belittling and squashing children's best effort. This school is in need of stronger leadership; leadership that is not enmeshed with it's faculty; leadership that upholds a high standard of faculty behavior and professionalism.


George Washington Elementary School 4

Posted February 22, 2008
- a parent
My children have been going to this school for a couple of years now.The teacher are the best in Baltimore city.I love the school because the classes are small and the children are getting the best education in the city.

George Washington Elementary School 4

Posted September 20, 2005
- a parent
My child has been going to this school for 4 years. You couldnt ask for a better elementary school. The teachers are good with the children, the classroom sizes are small. The school is small therefore everybody will know each other. i feel that my child is getting the best education at GWES.

George Washington Elementary School 4

Posted June 06, 2004
- a parent
My child has attended GWES since pre-k. The teachers are wonderful and highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. I'll miss all the staff as my child graduates this year. Thank you GWES for bringing out the best in my child and giving him the encouragement and confidence he needs to go out into the world.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Washington Elementary School
800 Scott St, Baltimore, MD  21230
(410) 396-1445
Last modified George Washington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
George Washington Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top