Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grove Park Elementary School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

My grandson is doing so well in this school. The teachers and administrators seem to care about the education of the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

I Love this school. My child has been there for 3 years and is improving on all levels
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

i love this school and its very very very great and it realy fun going there


Posted October 2, 2010

I hate this school. My children used to go there and the students were horrible. They cursed right in front of the me, the parent and the teacher!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

i really enjoy this school, my son did Kindergarten last year and I had a huge success! The teachers he had were very interactive through communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

This school is awesome , my daughter has been here for 9 years and i can truly say she has came a long way with all of the help and dedication from all of her teachers . the program over-all is great. we will miss this school when she graduates in 2011
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

Excellent teachers and school. The school continues to exceed my expectations as a parent. Thank you for the continued support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

I was skeptical when I first enrolled my son in the kindergarten, sometimes kids don't adjust well. But all in all it was a good fit and I am proud of the success he's made thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

I absolutely love this school and the staff! I am so glad that my daughters attend this school! With all the trouble that is corrupting the school systems, I can honestly say, it doesn't occur at Grovepark. The academics as well as the extra-curricular programs is exceptional!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 35%
Hispanic 2% 12%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5545 Kennison Ave
Baltimore, MD 21215
Phone: (410) 396-0822

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gateway School
Baltimore, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT