Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvert School

Private | K-8 | 606 students

Our school is best known for the solid foundation our students receive.
 
 

 
 

Living in Baltimore

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $348,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 20 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2013

I agree with the comment "There is a heavy patina of Old Baltimore money..". We had multiple children attend this school from Pre-K through middle school. GRADUALLY, the teacher quality slips from Pre-K through Middle. My child who is no superstar, did extremely well, and did not find it super competitive. The Math dept is pitiful, barring ONE teacher. The school clamors about diversity, but thwarts any deviations from WASPiness, a culture driven down from the Board of Trustees who are the "Old money". A middle school principal who was assertive enough to try to change the school culture was helped out of the school. If your child has special needs, don't even consider going there. There are no tools for evaluating special needs, let alone provide any accommodations. If you have plenty of money and don't care whether your kids are nice or nasty, then this is the place for you. Not a great experience overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

I went to Calvert from Pilot (Pre-K) to fifth grade, and I loved the lower school. I went to school every day ready to learn and totally engaged in what I was doing. Although some of the older, by-the-book teachers seem strict, I feel I learned so much from my days at Calvert lower school. However, the middle school seemed lacking. My first and only year in the middle school was miserable. I was bullied by classmates for not fitting the stereotypical Calvert mold (think preppy, rich, and a bit exclusive). I was assigned to a homeroom with a teacher that I would certainly say bullied students. I find that there is a line between being a strict teacher and being a teacher that has a tendency towards cruelty, and she straddled if not completely crossed that line. Other than that, the faculty was very good and quite knowledgeable. I just wish there were more art options and less of a focus on sports in middle school. It is hard to fit in to the middle school if you are not athletic, as almost everyone there plays sports all three seasons. Overall, however, my experience at the lower school provided me with a one-of-a-kind elite education.


Posted December 22, 2010

You cannot do better for your child. The curriculum is structured and rigorous, but also embraces individual exploration and creativity. I like the focus on written and oral communication -- skills sorely lacking among many young people today. I must respectfully disagree with one parent's characterization of the school community as "snobby." I have not found it to be so, and I do not come from a privileged background. There are many hard-working families who, like mine, make considerable sacrifices in order to send our kids to the school. In addition, I have found all of the families, regardless of income and social status, warm and engaging. I recommend the school without reservation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

For able, motivated kids, this is a great place. Highly committed teachers, a very tight curriculum, wonderful emphasis on some of the lost arts like grammar and geography. Calvert is serious about its commitment to diversity and has put its money where its mouth is. I've had two very different children here and both have been well served.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

There is a heavy patina of Old Baltimore money at this school, the culture is a competitive one, the atmosphere is formal, and students are trained more than nurtured. Assuming that your child is a little Spartan, though, he or she will be more than prepared by the Calvert experience to go on to any high school or college, and will have pretty good manners, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

Perhaps the most challenging middle school in Baltimore -- Hyper-competitive in academics and to a lesser degree sports. The facilities and faculty are top-notch ... the only thing that could make it better would be to get rid of the snobby, clickish parents and their kids. Probably not a good place to 'transfer' from another school because it is so tight knit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2007

As a former student, I found that because the middle school at Calvert is so new (the first full year was 2003), they are in general not as organized or coordinated as other private schools in the area. This is also due to the small number of teachers and students. One benefit to this is the very small class sizes. I would often have classes with less than ten students in them. However, the arts programs are completely phoned in, and much more emphasis is placed on athletics, although not as much as a school like Gilman or Boys Latin. I had few teachers I liked and many I disliked. There is very little diversity in the student body. They've gone through three middle school heads in the past four years. I wasn't miserable there but there are better schools in the area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2006

Excellent Curriculum if child can be placed in the right grade. PTA that never has official meeting, just parties and wine tasting. Grades by age, which may make children transferring in from other schools to be held back. Withdrew my child from day school and looking into day school curriculum to supplement his current institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

Calvert Home School instruction is a thorough, enriching program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

I was home schooled for the better part of my life. My family was one of the first in NJ to home school without a paid tutor (my mother served as our instructor). The proof, as they say, is in the pudding and I ended up graduating second in my high school class, and received a full-tuition academic scholarchip to a liberal arts college in NJ. I credit much of my success to my mother's dedication to instructing me so diligently over the years and to the excellent academic program available for home schoolers through Calvert. Clearly, this program helped me to excel far above my peers at an early age. Thankfully, the quality of the Calvert program has not changed over the years and I am supplementing my own childrens' education with materials from Calvert. I highly recommend this institution to anyone considering it for their home schooling needs.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 42%
Black 7% 35%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Green School Certification (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Andrew B. Holmgren
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AIMS
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Squash
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Squash
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: French
  • Girls on the run
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Model Cars and Airplanes
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer for community service projects
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 09, 2015

 
114
days left!
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$12000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Gilman School
Bryn Mawr School
McDonogh School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

105 Tuscany Road
Baltimore, MD 21210
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 243-6054

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT