Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
593 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I am a proud Calvert alumna. My Calvert education provided me with a solid foundation and a love of learning I that would not have received at any other school. The history, tradition, and approach to teaching truly make Calvert a world-class education! I am so grateful to my parents for sending me to Calvert!
September 27, 2013

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Calvert School 5

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
Calvert provides students with a solid foundation in the academic fundamentals while also emphasizing the importance of good citizenship. As a K-8 school, middle school students have numerous leadership opportunities that would not be available to them in large K-12 setting. A Calvert education set students on a path of lifelong learning and success!

Calvert School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
Calvert teachers set a high standard of excellence. They are clearly passionate about teaching, and they care deeply for their students. They are second to none!


Calvert School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
The curriculum is designed to challenge students which requires that they work hard and try their best. Calvert alumni are generally very well prepared to meet the demands of high school, college, and beyond.

Calvert School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
Absolutely! Students are taught to care for one another and their community at large. This is evident on a daily basis.

Calvert School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a community member
These qualities are hallmarks of Calvert students. People in the community can always pick out a Calvert student - the students are respectful, kind, confident, and generous.


Calvert School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 03, 2016
- a community member
some teachers are GREAT (I can not identify them without identifying myself!). Pilot, 6th age, 7th age, 9th age--we had some great teachers. Some small subject teachers (like math and reading in the top levels) are great as well. 10th age is a big problem.

Calvert School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 03, 2016
- a community member
dumbed down recently. kids have exaggerated sense of accomplishment; top kids are not getting the challenging material they could.

Calvert School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted January 03, 2016
- a community member
Teachers have dumbed down curriculum for my child's grade. I think teachers were criticized by parents for giving too much homework and giving too many tests. However, this dumbing down means kids at the highest level (as previous poster said) are not well-served. Kids think they have mastered a subject when they really can learn more about it or be curious about the next level. Lazy teachers take advantage of the situation by not pushing themselves to teach to the brightest students. My child seems over confident about material and this is a problem. The teacher does not even mark compositions except to remark on their gist. How is my child going to learn when mistakes are not flagged?


Calvert School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted January 03, 2016
- a community member
Admin are clueless as are teachers; make assumptions of people who are not WASPs. Calvert teaches the kids they are the greatest (I guess teaches them self-esteem?) and I guess it serves them well in the small community of Baltimore or this section of the country, but once outside these boundaries, I'm not sure what these kids will be like. They are in for a rude awakening if they venture into a more diverse environment. Hopefully they will learn before it is too late (the work environment or institution of higher education), but then again, most students stay local for college and career after Calvert.

Calvert School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 03, 2016
- a community member
Counselor meets with each homeroom once or twice a month, but what can she do? Kids do not take her class seriously. Kids learn the Calvert pillars, but pretty obvious from my observations that they do not take any to heart. They learn that this is just lip service at the school and do not believe the pillars are not important in the real world (or at least in the Calvert world)

Nearby schools

Calvert School
105 Tuscany Road, Baltimore, MD  21210
(410) 243-6054
Last modified Calvert School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top