Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hamilton Elementary/Middle School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2008

I have two children who attend this school and I'm very much satisfied with their progress and the over all school performance. All school have areas of improvement but Hamilton is reaching out and determine to strive for excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

I think Hamilton is a good school aon its way to greatness. It is well equipped with good leadership and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

My daughter has been in this school since pre-k she is in 8th grade now ,we never have a problem in all this years the problem is that many peoples use the school system as a day care meaning that they dont participate in they kids education and when they do is to late
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

I have two children who attend Hamilton Elementary/Middle School and I am very pleased. The educational level is excellent for a public school and I recommend this school to any parent. The environment has change for the best and the teacher care about our childrens education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

I have sent all 4 of my children to this school. THey have all excelled in advanced education. 2 have moved on to higher level highschool City College. and Poly Technical institute. This this school well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

This school has gone downhill eversince my oldest who is a sophmore now left there. there are too many fights, and the kids in my daughters 3rd grade class are talking about sex in detail. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

Hamilton is a very caring and production school. They encourage parents to get involved in the PTA and other student activities. I very happy my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2006

well I have gone to Hamilton since i was in the first grade. I just graduated from the school this year. To be quiet honest the school is great. It has a great family like atmosphere.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 25, 2004

This is the opinion of a child who has gone to this school for a long time... it's a good school and all. It mainly caters to the kids who do not learn; I transferred out becuase I wasn't getting a good enough education (thus, why I skipped a grade). Most of the teachers are nice (and every one who knows me thinks I'm excellent and I don't know why), but there are some who are really mean. The extracurricular activites are nice. Parent involvement isn't too good... there WAS no PTA. Safety is pretty good, though. Overall, this is a good school, but not the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2004

I originally pushed for my child(girl)to go to Hamilton because it was such a clean and organised looking school. I went to the other Hamilton on Sefton Road after visiting this Hamilton and was disappointed. Hamilton Elementary/Middle is a fantastic place to send your kids. The office staff seem to really care about the results of their work and motivated in their interaction with the kids. Being K-8 the school sort of an extended family feel and the mixed race population has an excellent real world. I don't feel like my daughter is going to school in a bubble but is interacting with a variety of races and cultures. Mr Barnes(the principal) does a great job. Tour the school for yourself! Cliff Blackstone
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 83% 35%
White 10% 42%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6101 Old Harford Rd
Baltimore, MD 21214
Phone: (410) 396-6375

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT