Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 624
 

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Boys Latin School of Maryland 2

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
My interview with BL for my incoming 6 grader was shocking. They wanted my son to repeat the 5th coming from a public school. According to BL, he would be more successful repeating a grade. I didn't understand the concept of how they made their analysis of my son's placement at BL when he indeed was forwarded to the 6th grade from public school. Some of the teachers (study skills) and clan was extremely rude and snobbish but the librarian is an excellent support for the students not pursuing sports but academics instead. Oh, btw the diversity of student race needs improvement this not the 1950s.

Boys Latin School of Maryland 1

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
Great Lacrosse School. The lacrosse coaches nurture and develop talent from within. This is not the case with many of the other sports divisions where coaching talent is not as consistent. In such a small school you would expect that there is opportunity for most of the kids trying out for a sport to participate fully, this is not necessarily the case at Boys Latin Upper School where personal relationships play a strong role in team selection. The school has a strong Math program and an impressive Robotics program. A reasonable non-sectarian choice for your sons education.


Boys Latin School of Maryland 5

Posted December 21, 2013
- a parent
Academic Rigor-If you review BL's course catalog, it offers post-calculus courses like multi-variable calculus, differential equations, and linear algebra. You have to have a strong math program to get students to this level. Mathematics is key to high paying jobs, top competitive schools, and will differentiate your son from others. With respect to athletics, this is a small school with roughly 270-320 students in the upper school for example. If you are comparing this school to one that has over 1,000 students, the percentage of kids who will need to field all the sports at Boys Latin is simply higher due to numbers. If you really care about sports, you would go to an A-conference school. Boys Latin is a B-conference school with the exception of Lacrosse. Because they are small, they have the time, patience, and attitude to help find, nurture, and grow potential. That is a mark of a great school.

Boys Latin School of Maryland 5

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
My son and I have been very happy with this school. They teach values in the lower school. The kids are kind to each other and are very happy. The academics are great and the math program in lower school is better than other private school programs in the area.

Boys Latin School of Maryland 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a community member
I was a student there and the worst years of my life. Hated every moment. I was not into sports at all and they use that against you. I wish I never went there. BIG BIG Mistake. To this day I HATE sports because I was not good and went to a "Sports" school where that is all they are concerned about. I got 0 education. It was pathetic. The teachers were over paid snobs who if you were not on the lacrosse team then you were treated like dirt. Do yourself and your children a favor and support public schools. ZERO STARS. So far the biggest mistake of my life and I have talked with others who say the same but would never tell anyone about it. Dont walk, but RUN RUN as fast as you can away from bl.


Boys Latin School of Maryland 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a community member
Boys' Latin has been a second home to my family for three generations. My grandfather was class of 1938, father was class of 1971, I was class of 2001 and my brother, class of 2006. I enjoyed my time at Boys' Latin immensely and wouldn't trade the experience for anything else in the world. It is a unique experience in the Baltimore private school world and one I'll never forget.

Boys Latin School of Maryland 2

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
Great athletics. Science teachers leave much to be desired. In preparing boys for college they have college level courses presented by lecturers. Sink or swim is the motto. If your son is a strong athlete this is not a bad school. If your son is more academically oriented try Gillman or McDonough.

Boys Latin School of Maryland 4

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
Great Lacrosse team Good Basketball Team OK Soccer team Good Robotics team Average Advisory team Good Principal Most teachers strong Some teachers average


Boys Latin School of Maryland 5

Posted April 21, 2012
- a parent
Great school for boys to grow up in. The Laker family concept gives my son a family during the day at school. He has two big brothers, one in middle school and one in upper school. They meet and interact in games, studying, and mentoring. He loves all his classmates, and all of the older students. He can be totally safe and comfortable with everyone at the school. The staff is caring and very effective. They teach boys the way boys need to be taught. So if you want a great place for your son to learn and grow, take him to the Boys Latin School. He and you will love it!

Boys Latin School of Maryland 5

Posted April 20, 2012
- a parent
Boys Latin School is a very culturally diverse school. It offers scholarships to help more students to join this very rigorous academic family. Boys Latin was the first private school to accept African American students during the 1960's. Students are taught academic disciplines, social responsibility and character. The school consistently performs at a high level in all of these areas. The school also offers top notch athletic programs such as lacrosse, football and ice hockey. They also have sports for everyone like badmitton and squash. Boys Latin students get accepted and graduate from the best universities in the country.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Boys Latin School of Maryland
822 W Lake Ave, Baltimore, MD  21210
(410) 377-5192
Last modified Boys Latin School of Maryland is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Boys Latin School of Maryland Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top