Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hampden Elementary/Middle School

Public | PK-8 | 338 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2010

One of the best neighborhood public schools in Baltimore City.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

I have taught in many Baltimore City Middle Schools, and I think that Hampden Middle School is one of the best. The students are well-behaved and conscientious about their classwork and homework. It is a very safe school, and the overall environment is quite friendly.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2008

Miss Wilson and Miss Healy, the first grade teachers ,are top notch.Most of the teachers are very good,some not so terrific,but the good ones make up for the bad ones.Test scores are usually average-high, the kids do learn alot here.The principal could be a little more understanding and aware of things that happen in this school but overall hampden is like one big extended family,it has its little problems but is still a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

I love the teachers and are so glad that they now go up to the 8th grade. I love our Chess Club and think it is a great way to keep kids off the street.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

this school needs improvement in safety and discipline issues. overall, i love the teachers and office workers. the school is very clean and love the new clubs they have introduced to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

I have a son and sister that goes to 55. I think most teachers are great but the Principal needs to be replaced. I think the school is clean and safe. I went there as a child and I am glad my son and sister will have some of the same teachers that I did. Ms. Healy and Mrs. Johnson you are two of the best. Ms. Vargas a some what new teacher you are a great addition. My son and I love you. The headstart program is wonderful .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

I am getting ready to move out of the area and am so sad about leaving this school. the staff is great they work so hard to make sure every child gets the same attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

I have 2 daughters that started in pre-k through 5th grade my daughter kimberly is a seinor/with honors and she is starting college at john hopkins this sept 2005 and my daughter courtney is also an 8th grade honor roll student, they have worked very hard and i am very proud of my girls, but I also owe alot of credit to the teachers and staff and of course the principal at hampden elm 55#, because if it wasn't for all the hard working teachers pushing these children day after day to work their very best they wouldn't be where they are today! this school is the best school in Baltimore City! Sue Wright-Smith
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 43%
Black 13% 36%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Asian 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3608 Chestnut Ave
Baltimore, MD 21211
Phone: (410) 396-6004

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Mill School
Baltimore, MD


Calvert School
Baltimore, MD


The Greenmount School
Baltimore, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT