Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hazelwood Elementary/Middle School

Public | K-8 | 467 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

This is the worst school my children has been to, the elementary side it not that bad but the middle school side is horrible i was in utter belief that this is where i had to send my kids to school, if the teacher tells me with her head in her hand "mom this is a good day" and the whole time i was sitting there, she was not able to teach the class because she had to keep telling the problem children stop doing this and that. I can only imagine how a bad day would be. It made me sick on my stomach. I feel like if i keep my child at this school that i have failed her as a mother. I'm a mother who cares about my children and there future. Parents you have to really try your best to be involved in your children educations especially if you have a child that is on these medications and most of them are on the medications so that you can get the check and its making it hard for the children who are not on medication and have parents who really care about there futures
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

The reviews here are dating back to 2008 and reading the comments it is obvious many were not written by adults. There are many changes that have taken place within the school. The faculty and administration is completely different from the ones during the years of these reviews. Our community is WELCOMED and ENCOURAGED to come, see, and experience the difference. Give the students a fair chance to excel without being tainted by parents' perceived negative experiences or personal gripes.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 11, 2013

Hazelwood isn't the best and it's not the worst school to send your child to.My child did pretty good at Hazelwood despite the obstacles he had to face in school.If I can help it I would not send any of my other children there. Unless they get a better reputation.Hazelwood just needs staff and parents that are willing to make that school a better place for there students.In my opinion if you are looking for a school,do your research first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

This was the worst school i have ever went to The kids were terrible. I will admit some teachers there did care but most didn't and were very disrespectful towards us they let the kids disrespect them AND everything the kids do they acted like they didn't see it the Vice prin showed FAVORITISM the MAIN Prin did not do ONE thing there were even staff that were there but had no purpose one staff even got a 15 year old preg!!! i'm glad i am gone from that school as a high school student i am much more happy now as i felt with this school transferring was the worst decision in my life.


Posted July 8, 2013

I live 3 blocks from this school but I want to thank you for your honest reviews. There are so many bad reviews. Thanks, to your reviews I will be driving my child to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

MThis school is horrible! My name is Chyna Lowe, I've been going to Hazelwood for eight years now. The vice principal shows favoritism, lots of it too. The students are horrible too, but no one does anything about it. I don't think that parents should bring their kids to Hazelwood, in a student's point of view.


Posted August 16, 2011

This school is getto and just so bad i dont like it. and the teachers dont relly care just about their paycheck and my daughter almost failed cause of 1 of the teachers not relly teacheing and they are just so irgraneitt.hazelwood dont send ur kids there or they might fail
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

dis school is the worst my kid jarawda'ee almost failed beacause of these teachers and pricibles i send her to summer school then she past but i just dont get it they just dont care about ur kid and they worry about their hair and nails not ur kid so i fussed them out my child is smart and get straight A+ and stuff when she came here they fail her like what in the world
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

my child and a girl name monica at hazelwood hand out right and monica is a bad influwence so dont send your child there or they might meet a girl name monica and she relly bad at some hazelwood and the school is relly bad thumbs down for that school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

This school is the worst school to send your children to. the some on the staff there are really unprofessional. The vice-principal there seems to show favoritism rather than care about what matters. She told me that my child getting bullied in another school did not matter to her. If the vice principal does not care then who will. Like I said worst school ever. If you do not work here do not send your child to this school. My daughters were bullied and that matter was not reported. Only because the kids that bullied them, mother works for the school and the vice principal known them all their lives. Well you should know bad kids then. This will be their last year at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

That school is horrible. We get away with anything in middle school like non uniform and electronics and the principle don't do nothing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2010

This school it the worse school to send your child to. It depends on the grade that their in. Grades k through 2nd, those teachers seem to care about the students and their achievements. With the exception of one teacher. The higher grades, those teachers are worried more about coming into work and then leaving for the day. I'm at this school everyday with my kids and always seem to run into another parent who has the same issues as I do. My kids are in 2nd and 4th grade , and I promise that this is their last year there. As far as principal, all I can say is the worse I have ever met. Parents find another school for your child if you want them to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

The school and leadership is great. It was was one of the best choose i made for my son last year. I took him out of Sinclair Lane elementary and sent him to hazelwood. The teachers and principals are excellent they are so much involved with the kids and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

This school is the best you could ever send your child to the teachers show the best care and 4 most baltimore schools this is a thumbs up
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

This school is out of control, inconsistent, and more concerned about how things look than how things actually are. Do not send your children here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 1, 2006

I believe that Hazel is a good school, but there are some bad teachers don't care about the students. Some teachers have other agendas and are just passing time at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

Hazelwood was not a good school I feel like they spent more time worring about the dress code then they did with making sure everyone was doing well in school. They also gave out hundreds of social promotions during my three year stay.When I first went to hazelwood we had a wonderful principle but she got in to a car accident which left us with a new principle that stayed in her office when she was there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 11, 2004

' I have to be honest, Hazelwood was not a good school for me, its unorganized, and has a terrible teaching skill. I dont like the school'! -Former student
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 26, 2004

Hazelwood is one of the best schools in Baltimore city to attend. It is vefy fun and you always feel at home there. I would encourge many parents to send their children there.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

14 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 95% 35%
Hispanic 3% 12%
White 2% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4517 Hazelwood Ave
Baltimore, MD 21206
Phone: (410) 396-9098

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT