Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James Mchenry Elementary School

Public | PK-7

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2014

I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone! It's always fights, the kids never have homework and they just pass everyone to the next grade, even if they were in the hallway everyday. So glad my daughter is in a better school now & learning :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2014

This school is very bad please parents if you love your children and want them to have a future dont send them to james mchenry my daughter went there for four months it was the worst mistake i have ever made
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2014

This school is terrible. I have visited this school a number of times and I have observed students running the halls, screaming, teachers being cursed out and absolutely no discipline. My child did not have a science teacher for months. No teacher wants to stay and be abused. The teachers can't do their jobs because some students are so disruptive and there is no accountability. They fight and are back in class. My child is leaving this school this year. Two parents came to school this past year to beat up students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

My child has attended this school for since kindergarten. She's now going to the sixth grade. Its close to home and very conveint as far the commute. The staff aren't attentive to the children's needs or academic growth. My child has been on honor roll all quarters every grade and does well on tests and her behavior is excellent. Last year she suffered with bullying,the way the administrators handled the problem was unprofessional and not only showed no concern for my child safety but they also showed no interest in solving the problem The lack of parent involvement , fundraisers, trips and academic curriculum I wouldn't refer anyone to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

My 2 children were going to this school for about 3 years. I took them out of this school because I did not feel like any of my concerns were being addressed. The staff has no control over the children. Any issues I had seemed to be no big deal. Finally straw I had to go to the school board. I still currently have family in this school and occasionally pick them up students are so rowdy and rude and in my opinion the school seems even worse since middle is combined with it. I think they need security and some kind of futher displinary action toward unruley children the staff acts as if thier hands are tied and they cant say or do anything about fighting and disturbing behavior. what happen to suspensions and detention? Its so sad to see this school go downhill like that. Im so glad my children no longer go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

AWFUL SCHOOL. Every day I hear about how mean the teachers are and which teachers or substitutes cursed or yelled at the kids that day. It is unbelievable! Since being at this school jhey have done poorly and after years in which they excelled in most of their clases before transferring to James McHenry. I hope it is possible for them to go to another school in this area.


Posted August 29, 2009

I think that the school has some good teachers that really care for the overall well being of every student. My grand-son was transferred from another school and I have seen a change in his attitude and his will to learn. My hat goes off to the staff for the staff members who have looked out for the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2006

My mother has taught at this school for six years. Most of the staff members are very commited to teaching their students. Many programs such as a recreation center, tutorial program, and YMCA help keep the children active and off the streets after school. I have seen the school grow in sucess more and more each year and one day it will be recognized as one of the best. For example, they scored in the top 10 in the city on the Stanford 10 (Grds. 1-2)
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 35%
White 2% 42%
Hispanic 1% 12%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

31 South Schroeder St
Baltimore, MD 21223
Phone: (410) 396-1621

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT