Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeland Elementary/Middle School

Public | PK-8 | 639 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Lakeland staff has come a long way in a short time to overcome what was once a less than desirable learning environment and converting it into a place where children can learn, grow and have access to resources that will help build stronger educational opportunities in the future. Collaboration between the teachers, administration and parents is highly encouraged and nurtured and if a parent cares enough about their child's education, and can nurture a love of learning at home and reinforce what is taught at the school, the school has many resources to help parents, teachers ands students guide children towards their academic and social goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

The school and its staff all work hard and most of the teachers are very committed. But, Lakeland still has a long way to go regarding bullying, student discipline and teaching all students to read and write. My children attend Lakeland and have to deal with bullying on a regular basis. Administration and the teachers can and should do more to help the children feel safe at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

I formerly taught at another school in Baltimore City and Lakeland far outshines my previous experience. The staff is welcoming, the students are engaged and the overall environment is positive!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 1, 2012

I am a teacher here at Lakeland and since the new administration has been on board I have seen many changes that have helped raise student achievement, community, and collaboration amongst staff. I feel that students and teachers are being held accountable for the responsibilities and the culture of our school is growing to one of resolved committment to see our students achieve!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 1, 2012

I am a new teacher this year and am so impressed with Lakeland Elementary/Middle! The teachers are creative, motivated and care deeply about their students. I also greatly respect the leadership of my principals and assistant principals and like the friendly, professional tone that they set. I have other friends that are first year teachers in Baltimore City and I seriously feel like I landed the jackpot teaching here! I feel well-supported and continually pushed to be the best I can be for the sake of my students. Lakeland is definitely on the rise and I'm excited to be apart of the upward trend!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2012

I am a new staff member at Lakeland this year. I have found the administration to be strong, the staff and faculty to be accommodating, and the students to be happy. The administration cares a lot about its students and their families and they spend a lot of time and energy creating a community school. There are lots of great after-school programs, sports teams, clubs, and extra coach class for students to be a part of. It's also a very clean building and a bright environment for students and staff. I have loved working here so far and would recommend this as a great place to work and a great place to send your child to school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 13, 2012

i am cashaey whitener at lakeland i attenade this school because this is a great school. my princeples are the best. i love all the teachers.lakeland is a very clean school.lakeland is a very pespecful school.we are loins a shout out to mr.gordon,mr.e,and mr.jammle they is some very good princeples.


Posted January 10, 2012

My children attended this school from PreK to 8th grade. Because of the education recevied at lakeland they both ended up in good high schools and then on to college. It disturbs me when I see negative items written about this school.There may be a few problems but what school does not. With parent involvement, collaborative working with the teachers and community, this school is becoming better and better. Sometimes it is only because of what you have out into a school that produces what you get out.


Posted December 5, 2011

Don't send your kids to this school. I wish I could give this school -500 stars, but I have to give it 1. What kind of school do they think this is? Najib Jamal is the new principal, even worse than the old one. Ms. Baker, and Ms. Falcone are the two worst teachers ever. I hate Lakeland. Try Lansdowne Middle School instead. I had a complete 360 because Lansdowne is the best school.


Posted April 7, 2010

There is so much potential in this building. There are a lot of fabulous students and some really terrific teachers. What this school is lacking is leadership. Although Mr. Webb is loved by many (students, teachers, and parents alike), he fails to run this school with authority and consistency. Ms. Nelson and Ms. Ferris are too inconsistent with discipline (both to teachers and students), expectations, and standards. Neither of them demonstrate authority or leadership. Most of the younger students do not even know who Ms. Ferris is, because she seldom leaves the office. All too often here, our principals are turning a blind eye to things that are not working, instead of taking the initiative to fix a problem (or just be assertive and identify the problem), issues get swept under the rug. Many of the staff members, students and
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 28, 2008

Lakeland is horrible. There are only a few dedicated , hard-working teachers like Mr. Woodward, Ms Head, and Ms Leonardelli, at this school. The school is failling every other year with the same administration. The PTSO tries very hard to support the school and community. The parent paticipation is almost non existant. The special education classes are over crowded. ( 30 plus students per room no assistant). The other teachers are just paper pushers and should not be educators. There is an extreme lack of discipline in the school. The middle school has a lot of violent students with behavior issues. Cherry Hill is actually better than Lakeland. The best schools to send your children in South B-more is , Federal Hill , Cherry Hill and Francis Scott Key. You get private school quality education for free. My child was assaulted at Lakeland. I took my child out of Lakeland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

I seen Lakeland became a great school. school staff cares so much for childrens. my complement to Mr. Webb Vice Principal I have never seen someone so dedicated to the children. the school and Mr Webb should be recognize of the outanding work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I believe that this school is number 1 when your sizing it up to most of the other schools that are left in Baltimore, MD. We don't have very many good schools but I believe that this is one and can be even better if Baltimore City would give them what they need ! More special educators and definitely more one to one for the children who need them . Also for all or the few special educators that Lakeland has they need good, qualified assistants ! Ms. Ferris and Mrs. Nelson are dedicated to what they do and those children who attend the school are lucky to be a part of something wonderful and great in the makings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

We had a horrible experience with the principle Ms. Ferris and ended up moving.( We are thankful for that) I volunteered some times in the classroom and felt really bad for the children and a few of its caring teachers. We have a child with special needs and if you are a parent in the same situation, this is the last place you want to send your child to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

I think Lakeland lacks what most of our children need, good communication skills and a willingness to go the extra mile. I think our children are just wondering around with a teacher or administrator that thinks that they are there equal and they do not instill a sense or desire to learn in our children. I have been to the school numerous times regarding my son and I always seem to encounter a teaher with an attitude I can only imagine how they are with our children. In my opinion this school needs a major overhaul and the only one that seems to go the extra mile is Mr. Web. If it was not for him the kids would be lost
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I would say overall this school is a good one.It is the cleanest city school i have been in.I have never gotten the chance to meet the head pricipal,which i don't think is very good.i have been in the school many times for my childs behavor,just to check upor just to volunteer and everytime I have spoken with Mrs. Nelson the asst. prinicpal.She is a very nice woman as well as the school secretary mrs. pop
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

24 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 35%
Hispanic 33% 12%
White 9% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2921 Stranden Rd
Baltimore, MD 21230
Phone: (410) 396-1406

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Westport Academy
Baltimore, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT