Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 278
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mary E. Rodman Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
The school is great I see improvements every day just wish it was a parking lot

Mary E. Rodman Elementary School 2

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
I read a post by a teacher who stated needed more parent involvement. Yes the teacher could use more parent involvement. The parents that are involved are not getting support from the administration. Maybe if the admin made an effort to work with parents, there would be more parents helping out. This was a good school. I believe if the school was revamped it would be a better school. Most of the teacher are feed up with the admin and has chose not to come back next year.
1 person found this helpful


Mary E. Rodman Elementary School 4

Posted June 23, 2014
- a teacher
I think Mary E Rodman is doing much better. I find the teachers are busting their butts, students are working hard and we just had a visit from the State Superintendent who thought we were doing some great things. I believe the problem is parent involvement and communication with administration. I hope to see some great things for the upcoming school year.

Mary E. Rodman Elementary School 4

Posted March 10, 2014
- a teacher
This school is at the forefront of reform. As a dedicated teacher, I believe that students are making great gains from common core, teachers are giving up their personal time to make this a better place and adminstrators are open to new ideas. Now we have to get parents on board. We are hoping the PTA takes the reigns next term and really helps to become a world class school.

Mary E. Rodman Elementary School 1

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
This school has a lot of problems. The teachers are very nice and seem to care about the students, but the principals still give a slap on the wrist for serious offences and repeated violence. The principals act like bullies and are very nasty to the parents, students, and staff members. I have witnessed some very inappropriate behavior and languange from them. My child is afraid of them because she thinks they are mean and scary and is afraid to come to them with problems because they might scream at her.
1 person found this helpful


Mary E. Rodman Elementary School 4

Posted January 27, 2012
- a teacher
Yes, there are challenges at our school. Nonetheless, the administration and teachers are committed to providing each child with an excellent education. The problems, exaggerated by the reviewer, can often be traced to a severe lack of funding and insufficient parental involvement. We have proactively initiated several processes and continue to examine new ways to reach out to all of our students.

Mary E. Rodman Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2012
- a parent
This school is out of control Terrible FIGHTS! EVERYDAY! that are not reported. Children have no respect for the adults or teachers. Children are sent back to class after fighting in hall way or etc. The trouble makers parents are not being made to come up to the school so the kids that are being picked on or bullied are being tormented on the regular. Principle only giving a slap on the wrist. At any given time students are running in the hallway and playing in bathrooms when they are supposed to be in class. Teachers seem to just look over a lot of terrible things that are going on in that school. Most of the innocent children that are only trying to defend themselves usually get the worst end of the punishments. School really needs to be examined by the school board children that really want to learn will not be able to get a proper education, which is really unfair. This schools academic program is very poor and no one seems to care. I really regret enrolling my child in this school and at the present time im trying to get him out of there so he can get a better education.
1 person found this helpful

Mary E. Rodman Elementary School 2

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mary E. Rodman Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 13, 2009
- a parent
I agree 100% with the 1st parent. However there's 3 teachers that I feel are above average. Ms. Dangerfield, Ms. Gilmore and Mr. Hlavka. They also have an excellent Afterschool program at the Recreation Center and its very affordable.
1 person found this helpful

Mary E. Rodman Elementary School 2

Posted April 26, 2007
- a parent
Over all quality of the academic programs is poor, students are subject to a lack of materials, old out dated books, a lack of science tanning, no musical instrumental training, inconsistent programs and teachers, and a very in experienced school administration. It seems as thought

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mary E. Rodman Elementary School
3510 West Mulberry St, Baltimore, MD  21229
(410) 396-0508
Last modified Mary E. Rodman Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mary E. Rodman Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top