Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Medfield Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 371 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 10, 2013

Easily the best school in Baltimore City/County. FAB! teachers, well placed learning environments, wonderful kids and a great Principal. The amenities are sub-par though, restrooms in particular have to be maintained better and serviced more frequently. The overall security system has to improve especially in light of events such as Sandy Hook. At minimum, the entry/exit points across the two School buildings have to be monitored and open access to one and all needs to be curbed considering the Medfield/Hampden neighborhood has seen a spike in crime rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

Medfield is actually the #1 school in Baltimore City not Roland Park and not Mt. Washington. Medfield is a good school because they make do with the little they have and still achieve greatness. No uppity PTA over here. They have a very diverse student population I think representing like 20 countries or something maybe more. They don't have foreign language like Roland Park does at the elem level but you can send your child for tutoring elsewhere and buy your own books. see...creative parent over here. It goes to show you that your school doesn't have to be located in a upper class neighborhood to perform well. Medfield is solidly middle class and REAL. I wish they had a middle school because honestly Roland Park is not my first choice as Medfield feeds into RPEMS. Medfield's rating should be higher on here but I'm certain these middle class parents have better things to do than to juke the stats...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

Last year was my daughter transferred to Medfield Heights Elementary and we have No Regrets. The staff is awesome and the students are great too.They keep the students and parents active and involved. They making learning fun and reward the students for their acheivements and efforts. I also love & appreciate that they keep the parents informed. WE LOVE MEFIELD HEIGHTS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

My daughter went to this school last year and we both loved it. We moved to Georgia over the summer and her new school dosent compare at all to Medfield. We miss the school and most of all her teacher Ms.Mandell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

My husband and I have one child that has attended Medfield Heights Elementary since kindergarden. He is now in the 4th grade. The staff at Medfield Heights Elementary make it a great school. Our son has learned so much. We just wanted to say thanks for all your support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

I have two children that attend Medfield Heights. My daughter has just began first grade and my son has just began Pre-k. I have never seen a teacher there that doesn't care. They all work so hard to make sure the students there not only work hard but love doing it. I attended Medfield for elementary school and some of the teachers I had are still there. Even now I can go to them for advice on how to help my children succeed. Every year the PTA does every thing they can to make Medfield a great learning environment. As a single mother it is nice to know that there are so many wonderful teachers at this school. A special thanks to Ms.Stokes, Ms. Michelle, Ms. Stadler, and Ms. Colbie. Thanks for all of your hard work and dedication. Medfield Heights is #1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

Our child attended a local private school for two years. What a big disappointment that was for all of us. We are very proud to say how Medfield Heights Elementary has changed her our child. She loves to read . She loves her school. This is how school should feel. As parents we can not express how wonderful this feels to see and hear these things. We really appreicate the whole entire staff at Medfield. We can not express enough thanks to Mrs. Debbie Thomas. She is # 1 ! She is very dedicated in supporting her students, staff and parents. A very special thanks to the best teacher by far Ms. Rita Tate! You have made this school year a wonderful experience for Kerstin. To all of you keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

Both my children went here and it is truly a wonderful school! The teachers are excellent! It's hard to find teachers who truly care but you will here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

Medfield is the best school out there. I would not send a kid to any other school. But what makes the school real shine is the PTA. They hardly get recognized. So special thanks to Laura Profilio PTA President, Linda Tanner PTA Vice President, Kathleen Miller PTA Secretary and Thomas Profilio PTA Treasurer.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 1, 2006

If I was to move out of state, I would commute back and forward to get my kids the best education in Baltimore - which is Medfield Heights. Medfield is a #1 plus schools. The staff and the children that attend are excellent. It's like one big family. The learning process is an A+. Hooorah for Medfield
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

My name is Katina Wallace and I am the proud parent of two Medfield Heights student. This is a excellent school by far. I removed both of my children from a private schoolto attend Medfield Heights. They have learn more things in a few months at Medfield Heights vs private school. I love Medfield and it's staff thanks for every thing. A special thanks to Shelly Bryant and Debbie Thomas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 43%
Black 29% 36%
Asian 19% 6%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4300 Buchanan Ave
Baltimore, MD 21211
Phone: (410) 396-6460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



KIPP Harmony
Baltimore, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT