Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coppin Academy

Charter | 9-12 | 356 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2014

The Principal of the school is very unproffesional and talks to parents as if she is in the streets. I see now why the school has gone down so much. This used to be a very good school! I would not recommend any child to this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

The new principal (Almond) is pathetic. My daughter thought the principal was white, so that says alot right there. This school puts on a good pony show for visitors but is nothing more than daycare
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

Coppin Academy is a very good school, I have been here for 2 years and even though its a fairly new school I have gotten everything I can ask for (except hot lunchs, which I don't mind because I love bringing my own lunch to school and being able to warm it up.) The teachers really care at the school and the material is challenging. I would say Coppin is one of the better Baltimore City schools in the city today. The principal last year didn't have the proper skills to manage the whole school, but the principle this year has given the students the strictness that is needed, and that has made this school even better. The only think should really change is replace some of the teachers that don't care (which aren't many), with teachers that actually do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2012

This school shouldnt even be open !! They dont have an health suite,gym, hot food or anything. Teachers give more book work whether then teaching. When a child is failing they dont mention until the last minute or notify the parents. The pricipal is caring but needs to pay better attention to his students and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

My child came to this school as a transfer student from Baltimore Freedom Academy right after the 1st quarter of the school year. It took a little adjusting but the teachers worked with her and brought her up to speed. Now my child is getting better grades then she ever obtained at BFA. This school challenged her, motivated her to step up. When my child received the progress report, I was impressed. My child's study habits have changed for the better. My child is more focus and mature in thinking. I am so glad that my child was accepted. I only wish I could have gotten my child in sooner
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

I graduated from Coppin Academy in 2009 being apart of the first graduating class, established in 2005. When I started at Coppin Academy I disliked it, for stupid reasons such as it not having many kids , being on a college campus, having to wear uniform,etc. Then the longer I was there the more I begin to grow-up and realize that the school had a great system of academics and outstanding teachers. We had challenging academic programs such as taking college classes while we were only in the eleventh grade. Being at Coppin Academy we did have our share of problems, but what school does not? Having such a small amount of classmates in the school made it that much easier to love each and every one of them. With the help of the school you guys don't think too highly of, I am going into my junior year at the college of my choice.So no matter what anyone thinks I rate Coppin Academy a five star school with five star teachers, and I am sure my classmates from class 09' can back me up. & I just want to say Rest In Peace to Lacy Roberts and Ms. Martha Brown! We Love you guys and miss you!=)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2011

I have a child that attends Coppin Academy. She doesn't hate it but she does say it could use some improvement. I feel the same way; Coppin Academy has potentials but a lot of the students there are giving the school a bad name. Many of the tenth graders are giving this school a bad reputation. Word out on the street is that Coppin Academy is the place to be if you want to fight and not get put out. The faculty has no control over these tenth grader and before long these students are going to be the very reason this school will fail to progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

I give Coppin Academy a 4 star rating.I would like to rate Mrs.Gooden with5 stars vera mason
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

This is my child's first year at this school, and after this school year ends I'm not sending my child back here again. The administration is horrible, everytime I call up at this school no one answers. The let us parents know things 2 days before it happens and not give us enough time. They don't even challenge their students enough. My advice to other parents is not to send your children to this school if you want them to have a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

Coppin academy Dose its job in trying to prepare their students for the real world. Teachers don't hold back, students are constantly engaged, and their location on a college campus gives its students experences that will help them later on in college
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
68%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 4%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 40%N/A51%
Female 60%N/A49%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 West North Ave
Baltimore, MD 21216
Phone: (410) 951-2602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT