Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northwood Appold Community Academy 2

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
You have to schedule a conference with the principal just to get a meeting with the teachers. Very little improvement is made after these conferences. NACA needs new teachers for the dynamic of the school to change for the better. Parents are unhappy with the level of teaching going on with many threatening to take their children out of the school.

Northwood Appold Community Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
Some of the teachers barely speak or even acknowledge parents when they come into the class room. That same attitude shows in their teaching. They lack the passion Elementary school teachers need to reach the students and make them passionate about learning and being successful students.


Northwood Appold Community Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
The homework is a printout from a teaching book. There are never full instructions or examples for you to assist your child with their assignments. And good luck getting any graded work back to gauge your child's progress in their classes.

Northwood Appold Community Academy 3

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
NACA has changed. The neighborhood has changed. The student body and parents have changed and not for the better. The students behavior seem to be a bit more out of control and I question if the school receives the support of the parents it did in the past.

Northwood Appold Community Academy 1

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
This is the most unprofessional school that I have ever encountered in my life. Security is a joke. A stranger could walk in the school and out with your child, no questions asked. I feel that there are some teachers that are good in the school but the lack of organization and the push to attend the NACA II program is not cool. Dr. Gray is always late and seems uninterested in the school overall. The school has no principal. The school is old and lacks sufficient space. There is no credible introduction to technology that could help the children succeed in the modern world. The school looks sad, old and outdated. The school lacks direction and purpose. Unless you do not have a choice of avoiding a zone school then do not send your child to NACA.


Northwood Appold Community Academy 4

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
My child has been at Naca I since August, and I must say I do see a difference in her willing to learn. She is excelling with her work. She actually likes to learn now, which is a good thing. Although she is a little chatter box, her teacher works with her. I appreciate this, she is in kindergarten. At this point I would not change anything about the school

Northwood Appold Community Academy 1

Posted March 22, 2012
- a parent
From my experience with NACA (Northwood Appold Community Academy), it is not a student centered educational institution, and I would not recommend this School for a pet, let alone a Child. Ive had very unprofessional encounters with the School's administration which includes Dr. Cecil Gray, and the 4th grade team. I encourage all current, and prospective parent's to find alternative choices for educating their children.

Northwood Appold Community Academy
no rating

Posted April 21, 2009
- a parent
This school has great teachers who care about the students.

Nearby schools

Northwood Appold Community Academy
4417 Loch Raven Blvd, Baltimore, MD  21218
(410) 323-9546
Last modified Northwood Appold Community Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top