Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public charter
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 244
Before care: No

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Northwood Appold Community Academy 2

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
You have to schedule a conference with the principal just to get a meeting with the teachers. Very little improvement is made after these conferences. NACA needs new teachers for the dynamic of the school to change for the better. Parents are unhappy with the level of teaching going on with many threatening to take their children out of the school.

Northwood Appold Community Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
Some of the teachers barely speak or even acknowledge parents when they come into the class room. That same attitude shows in their teaching. They lack the passion Elementary school teachers need to reach the students and make them passionate about learning and being successful students.

Northwood Appold Community Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
The homework is a printout from a teaching book. There are never full instructions or examples for you to assist your child with their assignments. And good luck getting any graded work back to gauge your child's progress in their classes.

Northwood Appold Community Academy 3

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
NACA has changed. The neighborhood has changed. The student body and parents have changed and not for the better. The students behavior seem to be a bit more out of control and I question if the school receives the support of the parents it did in the past.

Northwood Appold Community Academy 1

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
This is the most unprofessional school that I have ever encountered in my life. Security is a joke. A stranger could walk in the school and out with your child, no questions asked. I feel that there are some teachers that are good in the school but the lack of organization and the push to attend the NACA II program is not cool. Dr. Gray is always late and seems uninterested in the school overall. The school has no principal. The school is old and lacks sufficient space. There is no credible introduction to technology that could help the children succeed in the modern world. The school looks sad, old and outdated. The school lacks direction and purpose. Unless you do not have a choice of avoiding a zone school then do not send your child to NACA.

Northwood Appold Community Academy 4

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
My child has been at Naca I since August, and I must say I do see a difference in her willing to learn. She is excelling with her work. She actually likes to learn now, which is a good thing. Although she is a little chatter box, her teacher works with her. I appreciate this, she is in kindergarten. At this point I would not change anything about the school

Northwood Appold Community Academy 1

Posted March 22, 2012
- a parent
From my experience with NACA (Northwood Appold Community Academy), it is not a student centered educational institution, and I would not recommend this School for a pet, let alone a Child. Ive had very unprofessional encounters with the School's administration which includes Dr. Cecil Gray, and the 4th grade team. I encourage all current, and prospective parent's to find alternative choices for educating their children.

Northwood Appold Community Academy
no rating

Posted April 21, 2009
- a parent
This school has great teachers who care about the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northwood Appold Community Academy
4417 Loch Raven Blvd, Baltimore, MD  21218
(410) 323-9546
Last modified Northwood Appold Community Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northwood Appold Community Academy Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top