Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodholme Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 781 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

In opinion Woodholme is a great public elementary school. My daughter just completed kindergarten and she had a trulty awesome teacher. Ms. Glenda Weikel is a teacher that I can see one day receiving the teacher of the year award. She is passionate, loving, kind, fair, encouraging, organized, and enthusiastic. My daughter learned a lot being in Ms. Weikel's kindergarten staff. I beleive that the secret to great teachers are great principals. I am sad to see Ms. Marlee Clark go; however, she set the bar high and she is leaving behind a great staff from the Asssistant Principals, to the teachers, libraians, cafeteria workers, custodial staff, and special area teachers. Woodholme is a great school, which she be no surprise why they were honored as a Blue Ribbon School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

Woodholme deserves a 10 rate. Seems like every year they get better and better. I'm extremely please with the crew. Three out of four of my babes has gone to Woodholme. My eldest son started the first year they opened, that's when they had the three's program. Now my last babe boy is the last to graduate next year. To name a few that makes Woodholme so GREAT....Mrs. Jacobs, Mr. Broome, Mrs. Cooper, Mrs. Palmer, Mrs. Asher, Mrs. Diller, Mrs. Lewis and sooo many more. God please continue to do your works in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

I love Woodholme Elementary School, my daughter has done extremely well, she had/has the best techers-Ms Lentz, Ms Cooper, Ms Lewis, Mr Broome and Ms McCullum are all grade A teachers !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Love this school. Teachers are wonderful. My son loves it. He is in kindergarten. They keep parents in the loop with email, calls and text.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

My daughter completed Kindergarten at Woodholme and the school is excellent. My daughter could already read before starting school. They placed her in an advanced reading course that meets each week. The facilities are newer, class sizes are smaller, and the teachers are motivated and really care about the kids. Parental involvement in activities and PTA is also commendable. One of the 5th grade teachers just won the Millken award (one of 55 educators in the nation for 2011) and $25,000 for great teaching. What more can I say?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

I have been very pleased with this elementary school. This is my daughter's last year there and she's been there since the opening of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

As a volunteer I can appreciate the diversity of students that this school has. Also - the faculty is extemely dedicated and friendly. I love working here!!!


Posted July 4, 2009

I am extremely impressed by Woodholme Elementary School's rigorous curriculum. The principals and teachers set extremely high goals for each student. I currently have one child attending this school. However, I had two older children to attend Woodholme in the past. I am sure all the teachers are doing a great job but I would like to thank for following: Mrs. Hasler, Ms. Cooper, Mrs. DeWeese, Mrs. Gay and Mr. Taylor! Sincerely, Mrs. Jones
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

Woodholme is truly a phenomenal school! My son has been attending since Kindergarten when the school opened in 2005 and we have been pleased ever since! My stepdaughter started Kindergarten this year and so far so good, as we expected. The academic program is challenging, but the teachers make it fun and the kids are excited to learn. I am proud to serve on the PTA Exec. Board this year and as always the PTA continues to play a large role in helping support the school, staff, students, and families. My family and I are moving out of state this coming year and the only real concern I have is that we may not find a school that compares to the high standards we've become accustoned to at Woodholme! -Sad to Go
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

The MSA scores speak for themselves! The teachers are top notch and always available by email. The school is a child centered school. The principal is an excellent leader and she is highly organized which trickles down. I have 2 sons in the school, one of whom may have written the earlier review wihtout my knowledge... They love school and I often find getting up early and getting ready for school in anticipation of a great day. I can't say enough about this school. It is definitely like getting the best private school for free. The curriculum is demanding and there is a lot of homework!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

me and my little brother love this school we learn alot at this school its not only just learning by sitting and answer question sometimes we will have multiplucation challenges and we play games that help us learn how to spell i know kids would love this school
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 77% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
White 6% 42%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School counslor
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Mt Wilson Ln
Baltimore, MD 21208
Phone: (410) 887-6762

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Garrison Forest School
Owings Mills, MD


Cambridge School
Baltimore, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT