Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Moravia Park

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2012

the school is in the middle of a ghetto so it appears that they can't keep good teachers - so if you are just looking to drop your kids off for the day and don't care what happens, this is the place for you......sometimes it makes you sad for your own people but I will be taking my daughter out of there next year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

This is my childs first year here and I'm glad this was her zoned school because it is WONDERFUL.The staff are really there if u need them and they work with you as long as you work with them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL THE STAFF IS SO SWEET .I HAVE 3 KIDS THAT GOES TO THAT SCHOOL AND THEY LOVE IT THEY ARE 3 A STUDENTS AND I'M SO PROUD OF THEM .AND I WANT TO SEND A SPECIAL SHOUT OUT TO THE STAFF OF MORAVIA PARK ELEM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2010

IM WOULD SAY THAT THIS SCHOOL IS WONDERFUL. MY DAUGHTER WENT THEIR LAST SCHOOL YEAR AND WILL BE ATTENDING THIS UPCOMING YEAR ALONG WITH MY SON WHOM WILL BE ENTERING THE PRE-K. MY DAUGHTER'S TEACHER WAS MS. BOWLING AND SHE WAS VERY INFLUENTIAL WITH HELPING MY DAUGHTER TO ACHIEVE EXCELLENT IN HER PREVIOUS YEAR. IM LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING AND KNOWING WHAT'S IN STORE FOR BOTH CHILDREN.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

This school was great. My son was there last school year in the fourth grade. His teacher Ms. Martinez was great. The extra activities and family nights were awesome. I love the math circulum they used think its called matrix. Its kept my son on point all year long. He was in the boys choir and international drumming club!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

This school is the best school u could possibly send your children to in all of baltimore in my opinion my chicl have went ther for 8 years of course they went to the lower building too but they hae learned alot and has more friends then they ever had before the kids are well behaved and the teachers are just wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

My daughter is in Pre-K with Ms.Baker at Moravia Park. She is not only a wonderful teacher but it is clear that she is vested in each and every student. I am constantly updated with my daughters progess and also cany concerns. Ms. Baker is truly the definition of what a great teacher is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

I have been frustrated with the way teachers interact with the students. I do believe students need to be sat down and talked to but the yelling and the childish way the teachers handle various adult situations in front of children is unprofessional. I will say that the various programs like Sports For Kids and YSP are active in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

As a parent I am very displeased with school s system in general. Some of the teachers are unresponsive and do not provide timely or proper feedback about children s learning. My hope is that more parents get involved to bring about change in the school system at Moravia Park School. I will be sending my children to private schools after this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

As a parent of three children attending Moravia Park Primary I think that the teachers are very informative and knowlegeable when coming to your child. The classes are a lot smaller than most public city schools.It is very close to a county public school. The school is very clean and have a lot of learning incentives for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 86% 35%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
White 3% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 12%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6201 Frankford Ave
Baltimore, MD 21206
Phone: (410) 396-9096

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT