Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morrell Park Elementary/Middle School

Public | PK-8 | 431 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

The academy leaders and staff members are great! The music and after-school programs are wonderful!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 11, 2012

Just upgraded status to class one, which means more money for the school. 2nd grade and below just got all new furniture, most school freshly painted. Could use a little more parent involvement. Parent help at home makes the difference in how much the student is actually learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

I have 2 children in this school and this is their second year there. I have not had any problems with this school. I love that they try to keep the parents involved and they always have little after school dances and things for them to do. My only issue is sometimes I feel as though some of the staff are rude toward the children. I have just seen this in passing. The staff and parents are very chatty and I just dont feel like thats appropriate you get the since that when you leave everyone is gossiping about each other. I have no issues with any of the teacher so far so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

My son was in Morrell Park for two years. he loved his school so bad. As a parent I can only praise the commitment and dedication of all the staff. keep it up fellas, you are doing a wonderful job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

aLOT OF "bULLYING. You report it, and they do not do anything. let's the students take over the class. You ask for help. You get nothing except if your child happens to misbehave. I fear for their safety. The front office staff and the assistant principal seem to care but!!!!!! since the change in school and the happenings, my oldest childs behavior has changed and not for the good.....


Posted August 25, 2010

Morrell Park continues to move forward it studenst has some of the greatest un tapped talent in the city.The principal Sean Conely is Outstanding, The PTO is building and needs to continue to build parent participation


Posted March 29, 2010

I am very pleased with Mr Conely since he arrived at MP .He has made great improvements to our school and he goes above and beyound for his students and parents as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

I think my school is so great because we have such wonderful teachers. And a wonderful principal as well!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2009

This is a 5 star school. The principle and staff make you feel like family. Morrell Park is a tight nit school. No tolerance for anything less then the best. I am proud to be a parent of 4 children who attend Morrell Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

I have 3 children that attend the school .The principal Mr.Conley cares about the children. The teachers are really terrific. If you have a promblem they listen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

This school has shown drastic improvement in many areas! Thanks for taking such good care of my children through the years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

i hated this school the kids are punks and they think there better than everybody else
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2008

This school has improved tremendously under the guidance of the new principal Mr. Conley and the new teachers that have come on board along with the few teachers that have remained are excellent and should be praised for their dedication to our childrens education. I know that this group of educators will bring our school back on track and give our children the education that they deserve. The only problem I feel they cannot fix is the 7th and 8th graders who have been failed by the school system for the last 4 to 5 years and now they have to be prepared to enter high school and sadly most of these children have already set their minds to dropping out due to the fact that they do not have the grades to go to a high school that will offer them both a great education and safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

The teachers are really working hard with the students for them to do the best they can to learn at a better level then last year, even though there is no acedemics at the school I believe the main focus is on reading and math right now. Parent involvment is low and there is a lack of informativity to parents with the school. I wish there was more information given to parents and more program flyers given to the homes of children attending. There is a new art class after school program and cheese class but you really don't hear how the programs are going and the number of children involvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2007

the teachers are excellent and give our children the support they need. we need to make this school safe for our children to learn. the principal does not discipline the problem students which makes it harder for the good children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2006

I think that this school is really improving. The teachers and administrators care about the students and are trying their hardest to see our kids succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

Lack of academic programs, lack of music sports and no extracurricular activites, also lack of parent involement/ administration involement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 43%
Black 15% 36%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Asian 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2601 Tolley St
Baltimore, MD 21230
Phone: (410) 396-3426

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westport Academy
Baltimore, MD





Bridge Center
Baltimore, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT