Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-12
Private
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 114
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

14 reviews of this school


Baltimore Lab School 5

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
Our child has attended BLS for three years now, and we plan to continue on through high school graduation. ALL (100%) of the teachers we've experienced were caring and seriously committed to the growth and well-being of their students. 50%+ of our child's teachers have been absolutely extraordinary; almost 40% more have been ample for their (very demanding) roles. Fewer than 10% have been uninspiring but adequate. If YOUR personal experience with teachers was better than that you've lived a far better life than I. Finally, the school's administration has received one or two negative comments on this forum. Those comments are incomprehensibly wrong. BLS is a godsend to the population it serves.

Baltimore Lab School 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
As a former parent and longtime trustee of The Baltimore Lab School, I can attest that this gem in Baltimore City is a place of warmth and welcome to a child needing a specialized learning environment. Art and color fill the halls and classrooms, inviting the child inside to see that there is finally a place where school can be a positive, happy space, one that begins where each student is ready to start and sets an individualized pace for a journey to the future. My child attended the Baltimore Lab School from first through twelfth grade. Despite significant learning challenges, he flourished during his time there, steadily growing to become a college freshman on the Dean s List . Baltimore Lab School offers an arts-infused path to academic skill, personal confidence, and success.


Baltimore Lab School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
In our case, BLS has more than lived up to its advertising. Our language-challenged daughter was at home in the Lower School there the first day she visited. Now thriving in every way, she's brimming with self confidence. Regarding the administrative team, they've been responsive every time we've needed them. I've been involved professionally with world recognized international schools for over 20 years, and I feel Baltimore Lab is a rare find. The entire teaching-leading team display daily a genuine level of concern for and support of children who simply learn differently. That's just plain impressive.

Baltimore Lab School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Baltimore Lab School is truly an amazing place, our daughter has been there for 2 years and we have seen a transformation in her skills and abilities. She now is on grade level in math, reading and has gained that much needed confidence kids with learning disabilities need to be successful. The teachers are caring and experienced educators that are passionate about teaching. Its been a wonderful experience.

Baltimore Lab School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
Although the school has gone through leadership changes over the years, it remains true to its mission of providing an arts based, experiential learning environment for students who are bright, but a traditional classroom setting gets in the way of their learning. The results truly speak for themselves. Not only have students moved on to some top High Schools in the area (including Calvert Hall, Seton, and Carver Performing Arts), graduates are doing well in college and life. Grads are attending a variety of colleges, including McDaniel, Goucher, St. Mary's, and UMBC locally. For my child, Baltimore Lab was the perfect place to understand strengths, weaknesses, and develop a strategy with the confidence to execute it and achieve success. Students for whom Baltimore Lab is the right place don't fit neatly in any box, neither does the school. The Academic Club process delivers amazing results that serve students from their elementary years into college. Creativity, Creative Problem Solving, Self-Awareness, and Self-Advocacy are welcomed, developed, and enhanced at every grade level. You have to visit the school and/or talk with alumni to truly understand the gem it is.


Baltimore Lab School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
The Baltimore Lab School teachers know how to teach. They are passionate about their subject matter and students. I really appreciate how they made learning fun, challenging, relevant, and experiential for my son Mark.

Baltimore Lab School 2

Posted August 02, 2013
- a community member
This was a great school that has declined due to constant changing of administration and staff. Enrollment and staff is at its lowest point in 5 years. They have lost the original mission of the school. It is no longer arts based.

Baltimore Lab School 3

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
The reviews stating that staff are high quality while the leadership is disorganized, unhelpful, unaccountable, and out of touch are accurate. The review from a "teacher" was most likely submitted by one of those administrators. I found interacting with those in charge to be extremely frustrating.


Baltimore Lab School 1

Posted July 25, 2012
- a community member
The Lab School has a great arts program and for kids that are struggling it can be a great place. However many students there, like myself, only needed a little help in certain areas. The curriculum tended to cater to the kids who were having the most trouble learning in a normal school setting which caused students like myself to be held back from moving forward. The school's management is quite disorganized and was not helpful when my parents wanted to secure State Financial Aid. Dealing with administration was very difficult honestly on a host of separate issues as well.

Baltimore Lab School 4

Posted March 19, 2012
- a community member
Wonderful teachers. I work for an outside company so I can say that as a professional and without bias. No school is perfect, and naturally there will be problems here and there, but overall it's a fabulous place. The faculty is what makes the school and almost every single one I've encountered has been so passionate about their work. The teachers are so creative and know how to engage their students. The specialists are really impressive- some of the best I've seen in the field. Having come from another unnamed public school classroom in which the days felt 12 hours long and I often wondered why some of those teachers chose their their profession, the Lab School is such a breath of fresh air.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Baltimore Lab School
2220 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD  21218
(410) 261-5500
Last modified Baltimore Lab School is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Baltimore Lab School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top