Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School

Public | K-8 | 836 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2008

i loved mt. royal because they taught you a whole lot. i graduated class of 2004
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2007

I have entered this school because of the Advances Academics.Its a relly nice school and eveyone is polite. I just wish There wasnt so many rules but schools these days need rules.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2007

My daughter entered the Ingenuity Program at Mt. Royal in the fall of 2006. The academic program is strong. Both math and science are priorities. They have a great homework club after school for the kids. The standards for success are needed in every Baltimore City public school. Parents and students should demand this type of curriculum. The school has an uniform policy which is also a plus! There should be better supervision of the children before and after school. A number of the children are disruptive to the surrounding community and shed a negative light on the school through their unsafe behavior. I love the look of the campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

Although my son attended this school for only one year (8th grade), he has greatly reaped the benefits from the experience. Language Arts and Literature were two courses he did not particularly care for. However, with creative, ingenious teachers, my son loves literature with a passion. I am not exaggerating. It is so refreshing to discuss mature, intelligent literature with him. I can see the excitement in him as he discusses certain books with me. His Language Arts Class helped him tremendously in his writing. Now, when he reads me a paper, I typically have no corrections or suggestions to make. In my opinion, they are college students that are unable to write as well. I'm trying to me objective (smiles). I would strongly recommend this school to any parent. Deborah Harris
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2004

I believe that the school probably does a fine job. My problem is after and before, which is not the teachers fault but that of the parents. The children walk home or to school unsupervised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2004

As a former student of Mt. Royal and a parent of two children who have attended or attend, I have seen many changes in how the schools' leadership effectively approaches education. I have been extremely pleased to see that some of the same teachers that taught me are stil teaching and having as much success reaching the students through techniques that capture a students attention and makes them want to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 36%
White 1% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

121 Mc Mechen St
Baltimore, MD 21217
Phone: (410) 396-0864

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Midtown Academy
Baltimore, MD





Baltimore Lab School
Baltimore, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT