Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
Mount Royal is our family's school of choice for our daughter. The Principal, Vice Principals, Special Educators, Staff, Teachers, and PTO all clearly have a unifying focus on meeting student needs. As a parent, I feel fortunate to have such a strong community school for my daughter through 8th grade.

Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Ms. M for all you do to bring enrichment to the lives of our little ones. Through your dedication, you are creating curious life long learners and problem solvers. Our family truly appreciates all that you do for our daughter and the students at Mount Royal. Kudos!


Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 17, 2016
- a parent
Special Ed teacher Allison Ferguson has an engagement, professionalism, and reach in the school that goes way beyond her teaching duties. My son knows her from the after-school French club she leads, I know her from her engagement in the PTO and School-Family Council (and her amazing weekly post-French Club debriefs), and our whole family knows her from afterschool Literacy Night and other events. Grateful for Ms. Ferguson!

Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted April 17, 2016
- a parent
This school has turned around in a big way in the past few years under Principal Grotsky! It's now a sought-after destination for committed teachers and staff, neighborhood families, and families from across the city - and neighbors' perceptions are catching up to the new normal. My kindergartner has especially loved the gifted enrichment program (one of a handful in the city), the terrific music class, the after-school French and chess clubs, and the incredible Coach Rosie. Wish you could have heard & seen middle school singers & dancers performing "Glory" last month, or at the science fair the following week. A big and growing group of energized parents are active volunteers, working on areas of improvement, and volunteers from MICA and local church groups add to the rich mix. Mt. Royal and Mr. Grotsky have a truly open-door policy: stop by and visit for yourself!

Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
My experience with Mt Royal Elementary has been overwhelmingly positive. Every staff member with whom I have interacted has been helpful and committed to providing a great learning experience. This attitude flows directly from the top- Mr. Grotsky brings passion, dedication, and an abundance of energy to his job and it shows. My daughter has been treated as an individual with her own learning strengths and needs which have been addressed in a number of ways. The gifted program has provided additional learning opportunities beyond the regular classroom experience, and this has made a world of difference. Additionally, she has been given the opportunity to do her reading work with the class above hers which has further enhanced what was already a strength of hers. Additionally, although they are not mentioned here as yet, Mt. Royal provides numerous after school clubs. My daughter participates in the French, Italian, and chess clubs so far and will explore others next year.


Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
You are a fantastic Principal, and we parents appreciate your vision, energy, and leadership. Looking forward to another great year in 2017

Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
My son is the only Caucasian in a class of almost 28 students and I think he has g neurally been treated very well by his fellow students.

Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
My child attends this school in K-5 which has a wonderful teaching staff and even a unique gifted and talented program for these grade levels. At grade 5, he will be eligible for the Ingenuity program. The Principal is fantastic and friendly, and dedicated to the arts. My son has been able to participate in after school clubs such as Chess, French, Italian, STEM, and even Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth in Astronomy. It's a great public neighborhood school with a strong and dedicated PTO


Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
the parent teacher organisation (pto) really works for the benefit of the students and teachers

Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are very caring and very involved with students and the PTO. Many of them participate in after school clubs and theme nights.

Nearby schools

Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School
121 Mc Mechen St, Baltimore, MD  21217
(410) 396-0864
Last modified Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top