Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Mount Washington School

Public | PK-6 | 317 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

My Washington is the best school ever I'm proud to be a my Washington parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

I am quite proud to say that i have had a total of 3 kids attend Mt. Washington, and have another two still attending. In terms of what most might see the public education system as being, I can say that the faculty and staff is top notch, and strives to maintain the highest standards socially and academically. this is supplemented by an outstanding PTO and an overall atmosphere of family that makes my kids love attending. Outstanding school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

Great school. The CTY (Hopkin's Center for Talented Youth) Math program is great for kids who like extra challeges. Great new art and music teachers! Really nice, caring teachers and the kids are well behaved. Very active PTO. Definitely one of the best city schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Excellent school with diversity, tremendous parental and alumni involvement and staff that has both the experience and sincere caring attitude towards the kids we had hoped for. My kindergarten child loves this school and we are excited that she has the opportunity to stay here through the eighth grade. Blue Ribbon school for a reason!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

Mount Washington Elementary clearly lives up to its well-deserved reputation as one of the best public schools in the City and the State - as exemplified most recently by its award of a coveted Blue Ribbon for academic excellence and improvement. Sue Torr is an experienced administrator who has begun to instill a culture of academic rigor and strong student values. The expansion to include the middle grades, and the introduction of the renowned International Baccalaureate program should extend the school's success into grades 6-8. Parental involvement is key, and has been outstanding, especially during this expansion project.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2011

This is a standout elementary school (and soon to be K-8) in Baltimore City. Our kids love going here, and my husband and I value the education, community, and leadership at the school. The addition of an IB Middle Years program is the icing on the cake!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Diversification and education go hand-in-hand to create well-balanced children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

We have loved MWES. The parental involvement is incredible, as is the sense of community. Last year our kindergartener w/ Mrs. Zimmerman and 2nd grader w/ Ms. Lough both had excellent experiences. Their teachers were caring and skilled and their peers were supportive. The new principal Ms. Torr welcomes feedback and has handled budget issues and more-than-expected students very well. My sons also both loved the Advanced Academics program--a rare opportunity for all K-5 grades. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

My son is enjoying a great year in kindergarten. Fantastic staff, committed parents, and support from the entire Mt. Washington neighborhood community! There are a full range of special subjects: Music, Art, Spanish, Strings Orchestra, P.E. Library, as well as Advanced Academics programs for every grade from K through 5th - with two dedicated teachers. We couldn't be happier! My older son went to a highly rated private school in Baltimore, which we felt was a good choice at the time, but I don't think the quality of instruction he received was any better than the experience that my younger son is getting at MWES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

I am a parent a MWES. My children are enjoying their time at the school. the diversity is pretty good and most of the teachers really care. The Admin staff is great. You recieve great customer service from the office staff Mrs. Vondahar and the rest. The Music and Library Teacher are great also. Mrs. Lombardi Kindergarden is great. There are several great clubs my children attend as well as The After School Sports Club run by Mr. Day. He also does wonderful summer camps. The program is amazing. Mr. Day teaches my children sportsmanship, and leadership and aligns it with the classroom. If anyone attends MWES send your children with Mr. Day ,we love him, his program is also online, www.campunited.org. Oh and we will miss Dr. Shepley, but Im sure they will get a good principal in return.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

My princess enrolled in MWES Fall 2007, 1st grade. She came from a private Catholic school so I was concerned with quality of education, student body behavior, and parental involvement. MWES definitely impressed this protective parent. MWES satisfied all my concerns. Kudos to Principal Dr. Shipley and staff, esp. Music Instructor Ms. F! Plus the afterschool childcare, Majestic Minds, is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

Our experience with Mt. Washington Elementary was excellent. The teachers and staff are really caring and our son went from hating school to enjoying it. They also have an excellent, privately run, after care program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

Mount Washington Elementary has been my child's introduction into the Baltimore City Public School System. It has been a tremendous disappointment. Sadly, my child does not appear to be learning a thing. This concerns me greatly, as the school enjoys this 'reputation' of being one of the best schools Baltimore City has to offer. In addition to the less than challenging academic environment, I am less than satisfied with the physical security of the building. Anyone can freely walk into the school, particularly the side entrance off the cafeteria. I am on the fence about this place. I have have made my discontent known.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

My child has excelled since he left MWES. The school is not well-administered by the city's public school system. The turnover among principals reflects that, though there has also been trouble with teachers, as well. Bullying is a serious problem. The school has a policy against it which is pretty much unenforced. All in all, MWES is overrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

Our daughter has excelled beyond measure academically, socially, and emotionally. The test scores, attendance records, and feedback reflect mount washington's image in the community. The capable staff is dedicated to the children as a whole without overlooking individuality in such a pleasantly diverse population. Low staff turnover, outstanding volunteers, and high parental involvement make for a welcoming environment. The high-quality academic program combined with such expansive extracurricular activities has maintained mount washington es's stellar reputation in an era uncertainty in batlimore city public schools. We thank and appreciate every staff member for their dedication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

Our children are excelling here. We are pleased with the academic rigor, and feel that this is a gem among the elementary school options--both public and private. We are particularly pleased with Dr. Shepley, the school principal. He commands respect, is thoughtful with the children, and supervises the playground each morning prior to the start of school. Further, the combination of parental involvement and low turnover in teaching staff gives strong support to help the school shine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2006

Mount Washington Elementary School is most defenitly one of the best public schools that Baltimore City has to offer. I recently had a child graduate from Mount Washington and I found their overall test scores, as well as my own daughters, quite satisfying. One thing that has disappointed me in recent years is the leadership of the school administartors. The constant change of principles and their policy on dicipline has been satisfactory, but has plenty of room for improvement. I find that their policies on absences and truancies are very reassuring about the safety of the children. My daughter had many extracurricular activities availible to her and I think that this was a great way to keep the children active and out of trouble. I would reccomend this school for its unsurpassed academics and interesting activities.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 6, 2006

Mt. Washington is a great school, however the leadership tends to change frequently. There was one male principal and he really connected with the parents, students and staff. There is a disparity in the teaching staff versus the student body, there is no reflection of racial diversity. Most of the teachers do their jobs as expected, but seem to connect to the parents. In the four years in dealing with the school, there definetly has been a decline in the atmosphere with the 'constant changing of the guard' in the leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

My children have gone to the school and benefited. It is one of the better public schools in the city, but it is in decline. The principals have been disappointing. There have been several in the past few years. Only one stood out but he left after one year. None of them have been good at communicating with parents or the neighborhood. The school is not very open to inquiries or criticism and often it seems they make decisions without informing parents or neighbors. The teachers are uniformly good, but turnover in kindergarten has been embarrassing to the school. One teacher has painted the phrase 'Creation 05' across the back window of their car, which raises questions about the academic integrity of the school. Why start a controversy? Student discipline and safety are also problems the school does not like to talk about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

Mount Washington is certainly one of the top schools in Baltimore city. In spite of what many would consider an inept system, this school shines because of the faculty, staff, students, and involved parents. When I hear of other city schools and their plethora of problems, I look at Mt. Washington and all it has to offer. And without a doubt the big difference has nothing to do with money (that's an easy excuse). Instead, it has to do with the desire (or lack of desire) of parents to be involved in their children's education. No money in the world will fix that problem. It all starts at home. Mt. Washington is model on many fronts.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 64% 35%
White 27% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1801 Sulgrave Ave
Baltimore, MD 21209
Phone: (410) 396-6354

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Gilman School
Baltimore, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT