Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Patterson High School

Public | 9-12 | 1069 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

I think Patterson high shcool has wonderful teachers and office staff. The teachers go out of their way to help the students achieve their goals. The only problem I see is some ot the students are disrespectful and to me that is sad, becuase they are only hurting theimselves. Other then that I think patterson can be a successful school if the students would be more serious about thier education and have respect for themselves and others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2010

I taught at this school and was sorely disappointed at how the school was run. Administrators are more interested in protecting themselves from blame than supporting teachers, and pressure teachers to inflate students' grades. The few students who have potential are harmed by the negative influence of peers who need extensive remediation in basic English and Math before they will be ready to work at their grade level.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 17, 2010

A diverse population makes this old "neighborhood" school a great experience, and their multiple academies make specialization possible just as in the newest charters


Posted April 15, 2009

This school would have a better chance at it if more parents became involved. I attended the parent-teacher conference and saw a handful of parents. The teachers I met were excellent and are doing a great job. Thanks Teachers and Administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

patterson is a ok school like any other school it has it flaws, ex all the gang violance,and the principle big mouth over the PA system,and the teachers tellin there personal like were care. Its a ok school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2008

So far i believe it is a good school ihope it will keep up the good work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

As a freshman in Patternson high I think the school is ok BUT not good.It is true that their is a CROWD of students near the transportation academy it sometimes be hard to get by espicially during lunch time. Besides all the negative things about the schoo it is ok but not good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2007

Great teaching staff. Teachers achieve objectives with the lack of materials compared to wealthier schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

Im A Senior at this school and its an Okay School...Not one of the better schools in the city but than again, not the worst..This school is kinda outta control...needs more Control..There always seems to be a HUGE crowd hanging around the Transportation and Engineering Academy and it's hard for people to get by...A lot of the students act so immature...I have gym class and unfortunately,im with a lot of freshman and we could barely get anything done because someone always has to be disrespectful and disrupt the class.The Scheduling for classes is WAY outta control..It Just seems like Patterson was a lot better on my 9-11th grade years..Its not getting any better.The ONLY thing that I Love about Patterson is the Diversity,with many students coming from many different countries all over the world,especially South America,Central America and Africa.The ESOL program for Foreign Students is EXCELLENT!Im Happy For My Foreign Friends
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2007

As a former student of Patterson (class of 2003) I am not too far removed to remember my experience as a clipper. My memories of PHS are some of the best that I have. The teachers are very dedicated to their students and myself and my former classmates are living examples that anything is possible if you apply yourself. Don't blame the school if you don't succeed, maybe you should take a look at yourself.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 8, 2007

Do not send you child to Patterson High.It's a failing school. It loud, Uncontrolled, and dangerous.I pulled my children out of patterson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

As a former student at PHS, I have to say it is one on the best schools I have attended. Actually, no it is the best. The teachers are exceptional the staff is great. Kudos to the business and finance academy teachers!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 1, 2006

I've been teaching at PHS for 7 years now and I believe that it is one of the better schools in the city. A great amount of teachers here are 100% dedicated to their students and bend over backwards in times of emergency. Levels of administration discipline needs to improve. Some major conduct problems go unpunished while minor ones are. An air conditioning system is desperatley needed (not wanted) for the learning environment to improve. Sport facilities need tending to. New security system (cameras) is good. I feel safe to be in the building late.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2006

As a senior from the Arts and Humanities Academy, i believe that Patterson is a great school. It is true that the buildings need repairs and that we are low in school supplies. However this is not the school's fault. The teachers are great, security is getting better, we now have security cameras which are preventing students from leaving the school without permission. Principals are good, especially Mrs Jonzack, she is strict but she is nice also. It has a great ethnic diversity; it has a Latino Club, and many other extracurricular activities. We recently got the internet in the entire school which is a great thing because we are able to search information in the web about any subject. Most students are very focused in their education and look forward to succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2005

I am a former student at Patterson High School, and I believe that this school has prepared me academically, and socially for college. Even though Ms. D'Anna 'don't play' this is a good thing, because I learned a lot at Patterson that has prepared me that other students from other High School have no knowledge of. I beleive that Ms. D'Anna should keep doing what she do to help improve Baltimore City Schools and with the help of Mrs. Curry, and Ms. Jonzak.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 13, 2005

PHS is a good school overall. The academic programs are good as well as the extracurricular activities. They could use a lot more funding however. Security is not a great concern but it can be a lot better. Theft occurs a little too often with people breaking into lockers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 23, 2005

I am a senior at Patterson High School. I am in the Transportation and Engiering Academy. Yes we do have career academies, that is another great point about Patterson. No schools are perfect and people need to relize this. My only problem with Patterson at this moment is that we don't have any heat and haven't for a few weeks. Patterson is a great school we have great programs for example ROTC, law, cosmatology, pharmacy and a few more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2005

I am a senior at Patterson High and I personaly feel that it is an excellent baltimore city public school.We have some slight problems but nothing major.We have an actional fight but most of the problems are just students not wanting to follow our dress code. We have great programs and teachers. thank you for reading my review. Patterson High senior
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2005

As a former Patterson student I can say that this school is aweful. The first thing is the school is overcrowded. It makes it hard for students to get help from teachers when they need it. Next, the school the school doesn't really disapline the students approperatly. You get in serious trouble for not having on your uniform but nothing is usually said to students that cut class. Next is the very fact that you have to wear a uniform in a public school. The security in the school is aweful. There aren't enough after school activities in a community that needs them. Last they put too much money into sports and not enough into the accual education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 7, 2004

Early summer my inlaws surprised the family with a cruise trip as a x-mas present.I've asked the principal, and the super attendant, if they could take there finals maens that it fell on that week,that if they could take it the week before or after.they refused, im very disoponited patterson high for not working with me.Ilost time with my childern on x-mas and money.but most of all very unhappy grandparents that are old and sick and my not be able to see again.It wont be cristmas,It will be a memory,that will carry me forever,because patterson high will not make enaception.Marry Cristmas Patterson.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
55%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
49%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 68% 35%
Hispanic 12% 12%
White 11% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Kane St
Baltimore, MD 21224
Phone: (410) 396-9276

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Claremont School
Baltimore, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT