Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 86 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roland Park Elementary/Middle School 2

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
You can't escape the fact that this is part of the Baltimore City School System. The administration is purposefully opaque in all their dealings, just like North Avenue.If your child has a disability, they will try to con you out of accommodations. Don't trust them. Get an advocate

Roland Park Elementary/Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
The best teacher my son had left this school. My Daughter has had some very good teachers, but they don't do enough to foster her as GAT student...


Roland Park Elementary/Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
Most of the teachers are very good, but there are some clunkers. The administration won't deal with them.

Roland Park Elementary/Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
They don't prepare the kids for the reality of Middle / High School. So much lost opportunity...

Roland Park Elementary/Middle School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
Its all lip service. If you can't trust the administration, how are they going to develop these attributes in children?


Roland Park Elementary/Middle School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
Its all lip service. If you can't trust the administration, how are they going to develop these attributes in children?

Roland Park Elementary/Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
Its all lip service. If you can't trust the administration, how are they going to develop these attributes in children?

Roland Park Elementary/Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 21, 2016
- a parent
They won't do anything to improve the behavior of the General Ed students...renaming the program isn't going to fix the fact that no one wants their kids exposed to unnecessarily bad influences.


Roland Park Elementary/Middle School 2

Posted January 21, 2016
- a community member
I attended RPEMS from kindergarten through the beginning of seventh grade. My experiences in elementary school here were almost entirely good ones, but for an inevitable few bad teachers. However, once I began middle school (I was in the Ingenuity Program), everything went downhill. There was a definite sense of elitism amongst the students, and for many students their self-esteem was based almost entirely on their grades. For math, each class was divided into two groups, the "fast" and the "slow" learners. Having these more personalised classes could have been quite beneficial, but because the children are taught that intelligence/gpa is their sole source of value, being placed in the "slow" class was very damaging to many students (myself included). This also created a more intense atmosphere of competition, because if a student did well enough in the "slow" class they could be promoted to the "fast" class. The rest of the classes were awful. I think the teachers did their best, but with so many students it had to have been difficult. Rather than teaching more difficult topics (as one would expect in an advanced program), the teachers merely assigned more classwork and homework on simple topics. This caused a lot of stress for many students, because it was impossible to get good grades without spending nearly all your free time working on homework (even if you understood the topic). I remember having an average of three hours of homework a day in seventh grade. Many students in my class that year dropped out (including myself) due to anxiety & depression caused by stress- CHILDREN were cutting themselves because the Ingenuity Program taught them that they have no worth beyond a number on a paper. Protect your children's mental and emotional health- do not send them here for middle school.

Roland Park Elementary/Middle School 3

Posted March 17, 2015
- a parent
When we first entered Roland Park Elementary School in 2003, it was a moderate-sized academically challenging neighborhood school. Our kids were happy and we felt blessed to have found one of the only decent schools in Baltimore City. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said 10 years later. In fact, we pulled our last child from Roland Park after 5th grade and transfered to private school. Through a combination of over-crowding, decline in academic rigor, poor school management on the part of Baltimore City Public Schools, terrible curriculum changes, and declining facilities, this school has had a fundamental negative shift during our 10 years of attendance. Teacher morale is low (I'm a former employee as well) and student behavior is intolerable (by my standards, which admittedly are high). Many great teachers continue to struggle on and do the best they can - my hats are off to them, as they are the one bright spot in this once great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roland Park Elementary/Middle School
5207 Roland Ave, Baltimore, MD  21210
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 86 reviews. (410) 396-6420
Last modified Roland Park Elementary/Middle School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top