Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 492
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
We've been very happy at TJEMS. Oldest now in second grade and youngest starting pre-k this year. Great city school in South Baltimore.

Thomas Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
School is run well. Children are happy here. Teachers are good role models and good teachers. The Spring Festival was really great. Thanks to Mrs. Raina Somogyi for all of her hard work in organizing it. The children had a lot of fun....We can't wait for this years Spring Festival!!


Thomas Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
The staff and teachers keep Parents informed of projects, events and the academic achievements of the students.

Thomas Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a community member
I love this school and whoever that parent was that said advoid at all cost was not right. What was said was very wrong.

Thomas Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2013
- a community member
Great Grandparents' Day. Teachers were lively and engaging. Three year old class had an awesome Mayflower re-enactment. Their word of the day was nocturnal. You should have seen all the little hands waving to define the word, wow. Pre-k were into math working on patterns. You should see the lovely new library. Just goes to show that the key to good public education is strong leadership, the principal, and caring teachers. With all the talk of under performing schools in Baltimore this school should be touted. The principal is still relatively new but the changes he has made are dramatic.


Thomas Johnson Elementary School 1

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Terrible school, terrible kids, avoid at all cost. Curriculum is 2 years behind what it should be. Absolute trash.

Thomas Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
TJEMS has been by far the best move I have made for my son as a parent. My son was in the title I program 2 yrs ago to which I was given an option of schools for him to transfer to. Even though Thomas Johnson was not my first choice the school picked him up and I am truly grateful that they did. Since he has been at TJ he has been on the honor roll since he started in the 2nd grade and still is continuing into the 4th grade. The teachers are caring and loving to every student. My son love the ground Ms. Grinath walks on and he is not even in her class anymore. I dont care where I live in baltimore I will travel to make sure my son is in school everyday. Thank you Thomas Johnson Principle Dendinger, teachers, and staff for all you have done doing and continue to do to make sure each student get the proper education they need.

Thomas Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Great little school in the neighborhood, teachers are friendly, enthusiastic, and intelligent. The principal and vice principal are spectacular. Love that my kids are able to attend here.


Thomas Johnson Elementary School 4

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
This is an amazing public school in the city! The principal & staff are enthusiastic about the the education of our children and the parent involvement/PTO is huge support to the school.

Thomas Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
Both the administrative and teaching staff are fantastic here at TJEMS. I was a student myself and am so happy the school has maintained the high standard of excellence. The office staff is always helpful and friendly, and I have never had a negative experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas Johnson Elementary School
100 East Heath St, Baltimore, MD  21230
(410) 396-1575
Last modified Thomas Johnson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas Johnson Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top