Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public district
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 445
 

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

19 reviews of this school


Violetville Elementary/Middle School 1

Posted April 01, 2015
- a parent
The Principal doesn't care what happens at the School. Fighting, students disrespecting teachers. The first 4 months of the year 4 teachers walked out.

Violetville Elementary/Middle School 1

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
WORST SCHOOL IVE EVER SEEN, MOVING MY KID OUT THIS MONTH! My first grader has had to fight off older kids telling him they were going to stab him in the throat! Nothing at all was done about it, the administration does nothing about the behavior problems of the same students fighting and stealing daily! Teachers are just as frustrated with no support from administration, no parental involvement, no recess, no playground, bad test scores! Dont do it-I warn you, BCPS are the worst in Maryland! Especially this one! They hide it well with the nice new building, but its all screwed up once you get to see it for yourself!


Violetville Elementary/Middle School 1

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
Sitting here reading some of these comments about Violetville school. The sad thing is that the concerns that parents had in 2007 are still a problem today in 2014. The school itself is beautiful and well maintained. There is a small amount of good staff members. But the laziness and lack of willingness to help solve bullying problems from the upper staff is really what brings the school down. My kid has been at this school for years and has been tormented by bullies and teachers alike. Plus the children just run wild and I feel they are lacking in education. They only teach up to the state test then they don't care about the students after that. The older children are NOT ready for High school. So, if you can PLEASE do not send your child here. My family and I have no choice but are looking to move very soon.

Violetville Elementary/Middle School 1

Posted December 18, 2013
- a parent
Violetville is a horrible school my child has been at this school since she was 4 years old. In the beginning it was wonderful but the moment they got a rebuild of the school it has went down hill. My daughter has been being bullied by the same student for the past two years they are doing nothing and I mean nothing about it. I have filed complaint after complaint my next step is to go to the central office and file complaints then to the police they are doing nothing to solve this problem. Some of the teachers are beautiful understanding and are wonderful teachers. While others can't even seem to control a classroom. These children are acting like animals yelling screaming throwing things in the teacher just sit in the front of the room and does nothing. I truly cannot wait until my family and I can move out of this school district and I can get my child out of here.

Violetville Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
violetteville elemenery school. both of my grandchildren go there and the teachers are so good to them


Violetville Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
Violetville Elementary is a great school. My granddaughter attends and can hardly wait for the first day. The teachers are caring, patient and understanding. The school can improve with more help from parents.

Violetville Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
Violetville has a large number of teachers that go the extra distance for their students, whether challenging them in extra curricular activities and projects or taking special interest in students that need help in the classroom. The new building is just a bonus!

Violetville Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted April 24, 2011
- a parent
My child has attend Violetville Elementry/Middle since kg through 8 th grade. I have had no major problems with the the school or its staff. My daughter is a good student. She has good grades. I think students who have had problems at school stem from some parents not teaching their children to have respect for adults or fellow school mates. Parents these days a quick to blame everyone else for their child's behavior. Teachers do the best they can to teach our children. If we don't assist them when our childr are having problems it is our failure as parents.


Violetville Elementary/Middle School 4

Posted April 20, 2011
- a community member
I am a student at Violetville , i have been there since 1st grade and i have saw and had nothing but excellent teachers.

Violetville Elementary/Middle School 5

Posted April 12, 2011
- a parent
What prompted my decision to enroll my son in Violetville was Initially, my son hated school and appeared to be very stressed when he came home in the afternoons from his former private school. My son began at Violetville this school year in grade K. I had heard so much about this school that It sadened me that I did not enroll him prior to him starting second quarter. The Principal is very friendly and was able to answer alof of my questions being a concerned parent transitioning my child during the middle of the school year. I felt comfortable and safe within the school enviornment. Teachers were involved and connected to the students, and students were engaged in the lessions that were being taught. The behavior guidlines are strick, yet fair. Especially, for the younger kids. My son now has a clear understadning of what it means for the teacher to rate his behavior for the day. Both the teachers and classroom aids I have found to communicate well in this area. I really enjoy the Communication and Attention that my son recieves, but most of all he is having fun Learning. He loves his new school and so do I. Mrs. Mislak and Ms. Dorsey you ROCK!!! ~Proud Mom

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Violetville Elementary/Middle School
1207 Pine Heights Ave, Baltimore, MD  21229
(410) 396-1416
Last modified Violetville Elementary/Middle School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Violetville Elementary/Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top