Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waverly Elementary School

Public | PK-8 | 435 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2013

Things are looking up at Waverly with the new principal Ms. Amanda Rice. We finally have a principal that is about the kids and making sure everyone is working for the kids. She has many new programs in store for the kids and the plans include the middle school kids also for the first time in a long time.At the back to school rally she mentioned new programs like Robotics, Chess, John Hopkins tutoring the kids, Loyola sponsoring Waverly Scholars for the kids who want to know what college is like, mentoring groups, and other activities with a STEM focus. She's also bringing the kids cheerleading, golf, basketball, wrestling, boxing, volleyball. We are excited and looking forward to a good year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2011

This school have the ablility to move higher than any other school in the city. But because the parents dont step up, and the teachers are scared of the principal and of losing there jobs if they stand up for what they believe in, its HARD. But I pray that everyone get it together for the good of the children because thats what they are here for. GOOD LUCK WAVERLY.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

This is my grandson's first year at Waverly. His 1st grade teacher was a gem! The administrators walk around with coffee (?) cups in their hands in the morning (hope no child bumps into them) and the classrooms scream "clean me, clean me." Desks look like they never get wiped down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2010

This is currently my sons last year at waverly middle school his progress is satisfactory. I'm not happy with that at all classes have a large number of stundents and not enough teachers. So my rating of waverly is not the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

This is my daughters first and last year at Waverly. Some of the teachers are ok. The quality of education seems to be null. When a parent is told that it does not matter how a child spells a word as long as she knows the meaning. WOW..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

This will also be my sons final year attending not happy at all with te school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

I have two children that attend Waverly but this will definitely be there last year, both my girls have great teachers but I will not say the same for the principal or other adminastrators. We as parents really need to spend more time in the schools supporting our childrens education. This school has alot of problem areas with the main one being that the parents opinion, and voices are not heard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I love Waverly I can go in at anytime and check on my daughter progress with her work and talk with her teacher but I do think there should be move parent involvement with there kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

This school as great teachers. Also awesome resource teachers. However it needs to work on safety for all students. Also the administation needs to improve its skills on listening to parents about their own child we know them best. I believe if they work with us (parents)and not agianst us we could rate this the #1 school in baltimore.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 35%
Hispanic 1% 12%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3400 Ellerslie Ave
Baltimore, MD 21218
Phone: (410) 396-6394

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Spirit School
Baltimore, MD



Stadium School
Baltimore, MD


St. Elizabeth School
Baltimore, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT