Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public district
Baltimore, MD
Students enrolled: 650
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Waverly Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2015
- a teacher
This school has a great administrative team, wonderful staff, and inquisitive scholars. There are numerous extracurricular opportunities, including basketball, wresting, National Academic League, Baltimore Urban Debate, and more. Students participate in a National History Day fair, the Morgan State Science Fair, Science Olympiad, and many other great academic endeavors. Go Tigers!
1 person found this helpful

Waverly Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Things are looking up at Waverly with the new principal Ms. Amanda Rice. We finally have a principal that is about the kids and making sure everyone is working for the kids. She has many new programs in store for the kids and the plans include the middle school kids also for the first time in a long time.At the back to school rally she mentioned new programs like Robotics, Chess, John Hopkins tutoring the kids, Loyola sponsoring Waverly Scholars for the kids who want to know what college is like, mentoring groups, and other activities with a STEM focus. She's also bringing the kids cheerleading, golf, basketball, wrestling, boxing, volleyball. We are excited and looking forward to a good year.


Waverly Elementary School 2

Posted September 25, 2011
- a parent
This school have the ablility to move higher than any other school in the city. But because the parents dont step up, and the teachers are scared of the principal and of losing there jobs if they stand up for what they believe in, its HARD. But I pray that everyone get it together for the good of the children because thats what they are here for. GOOD LUCK WAVERLY.....

Waverly Elementary School 3

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
This is my grandson's first year at Waverly. His 1st grade teacher was a gem! The administrators walk around with coffee (?) cups in their hands in the morning (hope no child bumps into them) and the classrooms scream "clean me, clean me." Desks look like they never get wiped down.

Waverly Elementary School 2

Posted December 30, 2010
- a parent
This is currently my sons last year at waverly middle school his progress is satisfactory. I'm not happy with that at all classes have a large number of stundents and not enough teachers. So my rating of waverly is not the best.


Waverly Elementary School 2

Posted January 13, 2010
- a parent
This is my daughters first and last year at Waverly. Some of the teachers are ok. The quality of education seems to be null. When a parent is told that it does not matter how a child spells a word as long as she knows the meaning. WOW..

Waverly Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
This will also be my sons final year attending not happy at all with te school

Waverly Elementary School 1

Posted March 19, 2008
- a parent
I have two children that attend Waverly but this will definitely be there last year, both my girls have great teachers but I will not say the same for the principal or other adminastrators. We as parents really need to spend more time in the schools supporting our childrens education. This school has alot of problem areas with the main one being that the parents opinion, and voices are not heard.


Waverly Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
I love Waverly I can go in at anytime and check on my daughter progress with her work and talk with her teacher but I do think there should be move parent involvement with there kids!

Waverly Elementary School 3

Posted August 10, 2006
- a parent
This school as great teachers. Also awesome resource teachers. However it needs to work on safety for all students. Also the administation needs to improve its skills on listening to parents about their own child we know them best. I believe if they work with us (parents)and not agianst us we could rate this the #1 school in baltimore.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Waverly Elementary School
3400 Ellerslie Ave, Baltimore, MD  21218
(410) 396-6394
Last modified Waverly Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Waverly Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top