Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Midtown Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
I chose staff member for this school because there are four distinct employees who serve in totally different roles, but all have a positive impact on my children daily. Mrs. O is new to the school and brings excitement & passion to the 3rd grade. Mrs. Penny has taken on the Principal's position but continues her exceptional attention to each child. Ms. Mason is a TA who has the attention of every child, and Mrs. McKinney is the smile in the front office that greets you everyday. If Mrs. McKinney has ever had a bad day then we've never seen it! Thank each one of you and all the staff there for loving my children like your own.

Midtown Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
I should say just right because we supplement our children's work at home with an outside program. However, if we didn't do that I would say not enough.


Midtown Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Students are encouraged to work out their issues and misunderstandings. They are also awarded for being great citizens toward others.

Midtown Academy 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff at Midtown care for the students and use creative and innovative learning techniques to keep the students engaged. The class sizes are small and it has a true community feeling. The families work together and gather as groups outside of the school setting to foster a strong bond between students. All issues are addressed and dealt with appropriately and the staff seem to love what they do.

Midtown Academy 5

Posted November 14, 2015
- a student
Midtown academy is is good school. It teaches kids a lot of new things like states in alphabetical order, geometry, they do science experiments, they teach kids about ancient Greece and many other things. No wonder why my mom has kept my here for 4 years. This is the best school ever.


Midtown Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 14, 2015
- a student
I want to thank all the teachers for teaching us new things and for putting up with us.

Midtown Academy 5

Posted March 13, 2014
- a community member
Midtown has top-notch teachers and excellent administrative staff who have been with the school now for a long time to the benefit of the students. This type of stability and quality is rare in schools, especially in Baltimore City.

Midtown Academy 5

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
my school better then yours: family orient school,great parent involvement,great staff,teachers everyone looks after your child to ensure a safe place


Midtown Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
This is our 3rd year at Midtown and we love it more than ever! The school's focus on building community and creating an environment where children from different racial, ethnic, and socio economic backgrounds can learn and grow together, is unique in the city of Baltimore. The administration is focused on the right things and the emphasis on students respecting themselves and others is always present. The building facilities are the one place Midtown could really improve, but teachers and administrators have worked cleverly with what they have to work with. We feel lucky to be a Midtown family.

Midtown Academy 5

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
The small size of Midtown allows for a more a personalized experience compared to a larger school. The teamwork and comraderie between teachers and with the principal and staff is clear. We have a second grader and will send a kindergardener to Midtown next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Midtown Academy
1398 Mt Royal Ave, Baltimore, MD  21217
(410) 225-3257
Last modified Midtown Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Midtown Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top