Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Baltimore School For The Arts

Public | 9-12 | 375 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2007

This school is wonderful. My son was forced to adapt to what every one else was doing instead of being himself. At BSA he is free to let his crazy and silly personality out and feel good about himself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

The BSA is a great place to spend your high school years. It was better than your average city public school, there we were able to meet an assortment of students that we would have never otherwise crossed paths with. It was an eye opening experience that enabled growth beyond what would have been possible at a regular public school. I would recommend this place for any student, TWIGS program and all.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 7, 2007

I am a student at the Baltimore School for the Arts (BSA). I am a clarinetist in the music department. BSA is a place that I can come to learn and hang out with all of my great friends. This is a place I call a home away from home because I have been at BSA for 6 years because I was in the TWIGS program. The teachers are always nice to the students and ready to teach us something. I love BSA and only 2 more years until graduation. BSA rocks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2006

This is a wonderful place to spend your high school years, but it is not by any means an easy ride. Students carry a double major (academics and art form). School starts at 8:30 and ends at 4:10 and beyond. My son is a senior theatre student and he really likes it. He is with the same group of kids in his theatre ensemble that he started with as a freshman in 2002. The director of the theatre department, Donald Hicken is the best. He and the primary acting teacher, Richard Pilcher, have been with BSFA since the beginning (about 25 years ago). I would recommend auditioning to any child with a special talent in the arts. It is an exceptional school, in every respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

I LOVE BSA! I know this is for parents, but I'm a senior at the Baltimore School for the Arts, and this school has changed my life. Before BSA, I'd never gotten up in the morning and been excited to see what I'd be learning in school. The academics are pretty good, but I like to be challenged, so sometimes I find that the classes move a little slow, but there is AP English, AP French and Calculus offered, so that provides some more rigor if you're looking for it. There are no sports at BSA, but I started up a little after-school soccer thing so anyone who wants can come out and get some exercise. Parents are very involved in the school. They attend performances, help fundraise, etc. My acceptance to BSA is the best thing that has ever happened to me so far.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2005

I am a musician who is looking for a great school of art. Well, I found it. There is no other school in the country that offers this much music in one day. 20 hours a week on music and 20 hours a week on academics. Baltimore School for the Arts truly is the best art school. You will never find one like this in the entire state. Maybe not even it the entire country. This school has unique students as well. Everyone is like a family. We laugh and joke together all of time; what makes it even better is that we can discuss our music to each other and actually know what the other person is talking about. This school is one of a kind. If you are looking for an arts school to go to, Baltimore School for the Arts is definatly the one. -Jeremy Conte (freshman student 2005)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2004

Our daughter graduated in music and attends a major conservatory. She had good preparation in her instrument, but the experience with a diverse and wonderful group of kids gave her an extra 'real world' boost most of her peers in college haven't had. We are fortunate that we have resources to have sent her anywhere -- but we'd BFSA all over again. The humanities are a strength -- kudos to Dr. Casey, Mr. Moore, Mrs. Knight, and the other dedicated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2004

This is a quality school. There is a strict entrance audition and only the best are accepted to this school. Here, your child will be able to develop their talent under the instruction of some of the best in the trade. Many of the instructor are currently performing. Your child will continue to be encouraged to grow and develop in their area of talent through showcases, performances and recitles. Many of the students and graduates have gone on to become well known stars (Jada Pinkett, Tupac Shakur, Andrew Grahms, Larry Gilliard, just to name a few). BSFA also aids in career advancement. Give your child the very best!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 55% 35%
White 35% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

712 Cathedral St
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: (443) 642-5165

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Foundations
Baltimore, MD


New Hope Academy
Baltimore, MD


Eager Street Academy
Baltimore, MD


St Frances Academy
Baltimore, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT