Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Western School Of Technology & Env. Science

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2014

Western Tech is a great school academically. Western is a magnet school. The courses are challenging, but not unbearably hard. I'm going there for Health Science and from what I heard, in 12th grade you get internships at local hospitals. Western is very small in size and cramped compared to other schools, still I picked Western over Carver. I do wish that Western would get new materials for the health science program though. Other than those couple things, western is my #1 choice for any student that wants to work in technology or environmental science. Western also has cosmetology and magnets such as culinary arts. To see all magnets, go to the Baltimore County Public Schools website (bcps.org) and search for this school.


Posted February 9, 2014

Western Tech is overall a good school. If you're in the GT and AP classes, the expectations are high and the workload is great. But, the environment is scholarly. Everybody is really open minded and ready to learn. But, the honors and standard classes are a differen story. As a sophomore at Western, I'm in all GT and AP so I dont really know about the honors and standard classes, but I have a few friends in it and I have not heard good things. The students at Western are really understanding and very diverse. If you want to send your child here, dont even worry about their social life because the people they meet at Western are very fascinating. THere are a great range of teachers. Some of the teachers at Western expect a lot from you, and they will help you as much as possible to reach that expectation. Some examples are Ms.Young and Mr.Slepesky. Some teachers, on the other hand, don't help at all. Im in the IT magnet and I hate it so much. I was so excited about this magnet my freshman year and Mr.Foster ruined it. He can't teach or type to save his life and he has zero confidence in his work. Western is what you make of it and its really good if u want ur child to succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2013

Western School of Technology and Environmental Sciences exposes students to real life experiences and prepares them for college. The Culinary program, partnered with Skills USA, and Believe in Tomorrow Foundation is excellent. The Teacher and Parent relationship is good; I was impressed about how quickly teachers responded to my concerns. Kudos also to Baltimore County's Police presence at the school. The Prinicipal is "seen" taking an active leadership role and has a good repore with the majority of the students. I also appreciated the diversity of the student population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

do this school lets you text and stuff in class/ during class and is the school real strict or is it loose . im in 7th grade and tryna find a school high school


Posted February 10, 2011

I received my Diploma from Western Tech and was actually the first full graduating class. I received a great education and felt very prepared for the future when I left. The teachers were every dedicated and really cared about their students. I have gone on to have a very successful career and continued my higher education, with a MBA in Human Resource management and currently work in that field. I have Western Tech to thank in part for my success.


Posted January 18, 2011

My daughter is a freshman and the school has been very supportive in her academic development. Teachers are available by email and offer coach class for difficult concepts. Very pleased thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The entire school's staff REALLY cares about the students. As a family, the school provides a loving, supportive, encouraging, no-nonsense, full of expectations environment which has created a top high school in Baltimore County, Maryland!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

My daughter attended Western for the express purpose of becoming a Nurse. Now, she just finished her Junior year and her Nursing Program is over. She worked at University of MD hospital. Sounds good. Now, she approaches her Senior year. No help from the school in pursuing Nursing. At Orientation, I asked how many students received internships at UMD and was told only one. What is the purpose of this program? My son was in the plumbing program at Western and obtained a job through the school and continued his education in that field through his Senior year. My daughter was told that she had to apply for 'Work Release' because she doesn't have a job in the medical field, but they offer her no help in finding a job in that field. I wouldn't recommend the Nursing Program to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

WSTES is an excellent school. Our son is a rising sophomore and had a great freshman year. There are few behavior issues and the students are serious and focused on high achievement. It's a diverse population. The faculty and staff is top-notch. We are so please with the school and look forward to the next three years of our son's growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I couldn't be happier that my kids are students at Western Tech! I know that they will be prepared for whatever their future brings, whether it be academic or vocational. This is education at its best. The level of concern among both the teachers and front office staff is unparalleled. Even if it involves extra hours, all are there for students and parents. There's a positive energy that is contagious throughout the entire school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

The teacher to parent contact is timely and consistent. Also appreciated is the phone call letting parents know their child was late or absent. The prinicipal takes an active leadership role and has a good repore with the majority of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

western is the best out of the best if you want your child be successful put them in western
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

Phenomenal school. The teachers' enthusiasm to impart academic and practical knowledge to their students is amazing. WSTES truly allows for students to grow as students and individuals, and helps to prepare them for the realities of college and life.


Posted February 10, 2005

A very nice school. Kid's are dedicated to learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2003

This school taught me a lot and gave me a great education. I graduated in 1997 and was in the health science program with Ms.Vetter, who was an awesome teacher. Also Mrs.Massela was a great teacher.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 4, 2003

Great school on academics and discipline. Order is impecable and the student body is very bright and for the most part attentive and respectful. Good school for motivated students and career development.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 73% 35%
White 13% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (410) 887-1024

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Technology
  • Vocational education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Kenwood Ave
Baltimore, MD 21228
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 887-0840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Maiden Choice School
Baltimore, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT