Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Baltimore Highlands Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

This school is AWESOME!!! Mr. Williams and Mrs. Johnson make this school so enjoyable and super friendly. I would give this school 10 stars if I could I've seen this school make a huge turn around its a wonderful school my kids enjoy their teachers very much and me mom is always happy to know my kids have wonderful teachers who go beyond with loving to teach looking forward to the next school year! Btw We love Baxter he is one super awesome dog!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

I also was worried about sending my child to this school. I was wrong and I am very impressed with the school and the way that Mr. Williams conducts it. The children and staff are wonderful. The school is clean and very nice inside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

When we first moved to this area I was a little worried about sending my son to this school. I saw the 3/10 rating and negative reviews and was worried. Reality is that the school is wonderful. The teachers and other staff are wonderful, always friendly, welcoming and caring about the children's education. The principal, Mr Williams, is a wonderful principal and enjoys bantering with the parents and children alike and this makes for a really relaxed setting. He also deals with any issues right away. My sons teachers all care a lot about him and work hard to make him the best he can be. Parent involvement is lacking however. It always seems to be the same parents showing up for everything. I only have one complaint about the school, but that's about the building, not the staff. The school desperately needs air conditioning, Congratulations to all the teachers and staff in making this a wonderful school!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

I Went To BHES For 7 Years ( Pre-K Through 5th ) And I loved that school ! The teachers were amazing (alot of them , except now all of my favorite teachers (Mrs.Aus/Roman , Ms Howell ) are now gone, they must have loved our class so much they left our year :) and I was in the GT programs they had at the school since they started GT. The teachers always were helpful and nice :D, Going to 8th Grade this year at Lansdowne Middle School and hopefully going to try and go to the BSA for visual arts next year, I would recommend BHES to anyone !


Posted August 4, 2011

My son has been going to this school since pre-k and after reading the two parents post below I am very upset! Every teacher in this school that I have met with or know that have had friends kids have always went above and beyond with their students. It seems to me that a lot of parents want everything done for them and that is just not how life is. You have to be parent of your child's education. I also like how they want to help meet state standards and while I cannot be one of the 3 parents who are being spoke of in the post by the teachers because I am working and my husband work all the time. I try to do anything i can to help when i have the time. That is what this school needs more parents to help support them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

I am a past teacher of Baltimore Highlands ES and while I was there I felt that the teachers went above and beyond to support each student in the school. Activities and after school programs are available to help students, at all levels, succeed. This school has great support from about 3 parents, but the rest expect everything from everyone else, without pitching in to help. If this school could gain a stronger parents support group, it would be phenominal! The administration has recently changed. With that, I think comes great opportunity.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 7, 2010

As a teacher at Baltimore Highlands I am appalled at the two previous reviews of the school that I love to teach at. Personally, I am proud to teach at Baltimore Highlands and any parent who says that the children run the school obviously have not spent any time there. The teachers genuinely care about their students and it shows. Children are motivated to learn through fun activities such as Baxter's Math Fact Challenge and special nights such as Reading and Math Night. Our PTA is a fantastic support to both teachers and students but the only parents who show up are the 3 board members. I agree that passing MSA is important as consequences for not passing are harsh. Teachers want to prepare children for the test, but more importantly, for future education and adult life itself. Caring about meeting state standards is a GOOD thing!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 22, 2010

It appears that kids actually run this school. No wonder results are so meager.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

This school does not have activities which educate or excite my child to learn. The main goal of this school is their MSA scores not the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

My two sons attended this school, one since pre-k, the other from 2nd. The staff is friendly, helpful and always upbeat, even the secretaries in the office. The principal can be a little business-like and aloof, but the vice-principal (at the time) was fantastic. The teachers were willing to try new and innovative things, even the ones ready for retirement. There is actually a feeling of fun about the place, esp. with the music teacher! I worked in the classroom as well as attended events, and I can say I truly enjoyed myself. The neighborhood places a high value on education and many children here are thinking about specialized high schools and college! Great support staff for special education and open administration willing to work for what is best for the child. A place that created great memories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

When my Granddaughter comes home telling me about her Social Studies class, and raving about her teachers, I feel ever so much better. They take excellent care of her, and she wants to go to school. The children in the neighborhood are playing American Indians this week...one is an Algonquin, one an Iroquois, and one is a Mayan. I know that they are taking this from their class work. When they are willing to 'play' what they have learned in class....then that class is a success!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 42%
Hispanic 29% 12%
Black 26% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4200 Annapolis Rd
Baltimore, MD 21227
Phone: (410) 887-0919

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT