Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Battle Grove Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2010

Battle Grove has shown they care about all of their students. The staff responds quickly to all requests and does their best to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

My grand children attend and this school has lots of activities for the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Both my daughter and son got to school here; wonderful, attentative, caring teachers, which can be hard to come by; I've always felt very safe about leaving them there all day; and the curriculum is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

wonderful school! superior special education services! terrific teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

This is my childs first year at this school. I cant express how satisfied I am. She comes home if great spirts. I love her teacher, Mrs. Felber, She goes the extra mile to make the kids have a memorable year. Unfortunatly we have recently learned that Mrs. Jones our beloved principle is retiring for BCPS. I know I speak for the rest of the school in saying that both the kids and parents will miss you dearly. Your are a respectable and wonderful principle, we wish you the best. This is a great school to send your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2007

I feel this is a wonderful learning environment! The principal and staff are organized, centered and knowledgeable. Security is A+. Best school in Baltimore County. Everyone gives 101%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

This is my son's 3rd year at Battle Grove Elementary School, First in Tiny Tots, 2nd in Pre-K 4 and now Kindergarten. I have a very positive opinion about BGE. Ms. Jones, the principal, is approachable and very involved in the school's activities, both before and after school. She sets a high standard for herself as well as her staff. The administration, teaching and staff support staff have real concern for the children and their education. They are a dedicated team, highly qualified and they try to make learning fun for the students. I have high regards for Ms. Jones and her whole staff, along with the NPV Recreation Council and the PTA. The PTA sponsors a lot of activities such as the fall festival, book fairs, etc. Battle Grove Elementary School is not just a school it is more like a family. Lisa Turner
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

I feel this school in our small neighborhood is doing a wonderful job meeting the needs of the area children. It is clear the principal Laurie Jones is one of the best. She is a wonderful communicator and works hard to see all children educational needs are meet. The staff is caring and some teacher have been there for many years and are such an asset to the school. Especially Ms. Felber,Ms. Wreszien, Ms. Black and Ms. Glorioso, these teachers excell at their jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

Both my children attended this school. Had no problems thought the school was great until I found that my child was behind all my friends children. the school is not adaquate on education. the principal is out for numbers only and could care less about the children. as long as she looks good that is all that matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2005

My girls, and now my 3 grandchildren attend here. The teachers are very dedicated to their profession. Laurie Jones is an excellent principal. In my opinion, this is a great school. Mary Lou Karwacki
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I highly recommend this school my daughter did very well and I am very pleased with the way they teach our children here. Unfortunatly we moved and I had to tranfer Cheyenne to another school but we both miss Battle Grove.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have been a parent in this school for over 21 years. This is a very good time with our school. Administration and teachers are very involved with the students and school. Very highly recommended as it is not overcrowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 42%
Black 10% 35%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7828 St Patricia Ln
Baltimore, MD 21222
Phone: (410) 887-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT