Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carney Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 538 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

My son is a third generation Carney student! We love the school, and the teachers. My son has special needs and they have been very helpful in making sure he gets the appropriate services.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

I give craney a below average because of the new principal. She is unconcerned for her students and actually is quite rude. the office staff are very unfriendly and curt. No assistance is provided to parents in need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

Had a difficult time getting feedback from teachers on my child's progress. Teachers tend to be on the defensive too much. A new principle this year promised improvement, but so far just talk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

The staff is helpfull, the teachers are average and the principal below average. They used to have a 9 grading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

I really love this school and the teachers I've met. I agree that the front office staff is not friendly and warm. They make you feel like you're bothering them when you come in. In response to the parent below who said the principal should work on encouraging parents of all races to be involved in school activities and programs, I have seen first hand how uninvolved parents of ALL races are at Carney. I've attended the general PTA meetings where parents have an open forum to address concerns, and been one of about ten people there. Either the principal or vice principal are always at the meetings and encourage new ideas for parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2012

I like the teachers at Carney as they seem geniunely concerned about the students academic achievement. The principal and office staff are very unfriendly. The principal should work on encouraging parents of all races to be involved in school activities and programs since Carney is a diverse school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

i dont like this school.they are trying give a hard time.i hate school staff..they are not usa president
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2012

Carney is a great school! I love the new Principal & asst Principal and the school is growing by leaps and bounds. The PTA is very dedicated and the parents are very involved. A lot of the teachers are signing up for online grades as well. This is our first year doing online grades, and I love it! I would highly recommend Carney to anyone!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

The new pricipal at Carney is amazing. The love and concern for her students and staff is aparent in all that she does. My oldest child graduated from fifth grade last year and I have four of my other children still attending. I am so proud to be a Carney mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

My third child is now enrolled in Carney Elementary. The teachers, staff and administrators are a group of hard working, dedicated professionals. We are extremely happy with the school and would highly recommend Carney Elementary to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Carney is a great school, that makes every child feel encoraged to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

The teachers can't explain easy concepts and there are a lot of subs. The director doesn't return calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2009

THe teachers are wonderful and truly care about their students. The PTA is so involved. I am so pleased my daughter goes there!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

This is our second year at Carney and we couldn't be more pleased! My daughter was thrilled to start school again this week. The teachers and staff are truly dedicated and their hard work is apparent in the student achievement. We couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

It is our first year at Carney and so far I think it is a really good school. The teachers are wonderful and constantly monitor your child to make sure they are were they need to be. I feel like my child is challenged but not so much that she is stressed out and she loves the extracurricular activities provided by the school. Parents are encouraged to volunteer as much as they choose. This to me is wonderful because I like to observe what happens with my child plus I get to help the teacher out so that she has more time with the children. It allows me to see how my child is in class. Overall, I would recommend the school to anyone who wants their child to be in a productive, clean, safe, and happy environment for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 42%
Black 24% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 6%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School counslor
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3131 East Joppa Rd
Baltimore, MD 21234
Phone: (410) 887-5228

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Ursula School
Parkville, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT