Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chadwick Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2014

Straight to the point. Gave 4 stars because no teacher assistance in classroom and there are 25 children that were in my child classroom last year. However agree with other post very very good staff.Another issue is uniforms...put the children in uniform look more structured and less peer pressure as they get older when dealing with peer pressure. Because no teacher assistant considering taking my child out and putting in private sector. Not asking for my child to be the smartest but dont want my child left behind front the lack of help and attention while in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

A National Blue Ribbon School... This school is WONDERFUL... The array of diverse students work very hard and are challenged to be their Best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

I love this school... my children are learning so much. The students come first, the teachers and staff are excellent. The only thing I would change is that they enforce wearing uniforms!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

Chadwick ES is the best school that I ever send my children. Their are a lot of competitive learning while having fun. I recommend this school to parents out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

My son has attended Chadwick since PreK and recently entered the 1st Grade this year & I must say I am impressed daily. Teachers, Staff, Curriculum, Students in a whole is a positive atmosphere! The teachers and staff are very attentive & patient and always put your childs best interest and safety as top priority. Only thing I would change is that they enforce a dresscode such as wearing uniforms! :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

My children attend this school and I love them being there. My daughters are both gifted and talented and they are continuously challenged and met at their levels. Their teachers are excellent and have incredible leaders in their principal and vice principal. It is a diversely attended school. My children have met other children from various cultures and have learned so much from this environment. There is really so much to say about this school, but to sum it up in three words they would be: Challenging Engaging Excellence
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

I went to chadwick for 5th grade . I joined in the middle of the year like for 2nd quater and I was really suprised how nice the teachers were and the students fit me in and counted me in everything. Chadwick is a really great school and Ms ednie and mr. farley were the best teachers


Posted March 29, 2010

WOW....I have have nothing but PRAISES for Chadwick Elementary. After taking my child out of private school I was a little apprehensive to send him to public school. I couldn't be more pleased with Chadwick. Each & EVERY teacher he has is EXCELLENT!!! Their learning curricular is right on target & pushes the kids to succeed. There are many extra-curricular activites for the children to participate in. The teachers are in tune with each child on an individual basis and really prepares them for middle school. I can't believe I doubted public schools. I only hope I can get these same standards as my child goes on to middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

I love this school! The principal is great. The teachers are great! My kids tell me that the principles are always in their classrooms. I bought a home in this area just because I waned my three kids to go to this school. The classes are challenging and the whole school tries to make kids feel like champions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

This is an excellent school. I wish other parents would comment on how superb they are here. The teachers are extremely helpful and the students are respectful. Even the crossing guards are pleasant. The nurse knows the kids by name, and Ive found that most of the teachers try to practice that same ritual. The secretaries are very helpful and understanding (to the kids as well). Im very happy I moved to this area years ago and this is my daughters zone school~ Wish this school went to 12 grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2004

I currently have a daughter attending Pre-K @ Chadwick. My daughter only attendeds class for 2 1/2 hrs each day, yet I am amazed at how much she learns each day . I've witnessed the teachers come together for various activities, including pick-up after school. The principal and teachers are extremely pleasant at Chadwick. The school area is well kept. You can see that the older students of Chadwick are almost trained to be leaders to the young students and It gives me peace of mind knowing they are cautious also.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 34% 6%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
White 1% 42%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1918 Winder Rd
Baltimore, MD 21244
Phone: (410) 887-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Al-Rahmah School
Baltimore, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT