Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dundalk High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2010

The school is very hard to get used to. The students get away with a lot more than they should in classrooms. My expirience so far has been pleasent but I was not put here by choice. If you want a good school and have the money send your daughter to Mercy High School. The best year of my life was spent there. It is worth the money.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2010

My daughter is attending Dundalk High School after a private school experience. She loves it! The teachers are very helpful. She was actually behind in Math. I wish more parents would take an active part in bringing this school up to Magnet standards!!! Teachers and admin. keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

Amazing school! I highly recommend it. The teachers are great. The administration are very supportive.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 4, 2010

This school is awesome, great teachers, students are friendly and nice. Also they offer a great variety of electives. Definitely one of the best schools in the district. Overall it's fun and the teachers are very understanding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2009

I graduated from this school in 1990. My son attends this school and he is i the 9th grade. This school has wonderful teachers that will take time with their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

its greeeaaat! I love the new teachers! its like theyve totally turned this school Around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2007

My children have always been enrolled in private schools. Once I placed my son and daughter in Dundalk Senior High, I was amazed. There was no difference. The teachers are loving and caring as well as the administrative staff. I would highly recommend Dundalk Senior High!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Love it. Graduated from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

I am a graduate of Dundalk High School, year 2002, and believe Dundalk to be a great school with many advanced classes as well as ethnically diverse teachers and students. Without diversity, how can students learn the value of equallity, teamwork, and commitment. I am very proud to say that I attended Dundalk High school, not only because of academics, but extracurricular activities as well. It is a great place to live, work, and be educated!---Keri class of 2002
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 28, 2006

Fine school for academics, very underrated. I've seen many good kids graduate and become fine adults. However the level of students and parents involved in sports and after school events is terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2006

I am a senior here at Dundalk. The Teachers are the best I have had, and except for the occasional fight(which happen in all schools) It isnt bad. . . I would choose this school over any other.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2005

I attended DHS and graduated in 2000. Since graduation I have recieved my BA in Political Science, and am working on my MBA. I believe that the school has much to offer to students and families that are willing to give back to it. When parents are involved, children succeed. Period. No matter what the name reads on the front of the building.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 2, 2005

After hearing all the nasty things written about Dundalk High School, I choose to send my 4 children there. After my children attended Dundalk they all went to colleges and earned there degrees. I was extremely involved in my childrens education and feel that what i observed from the Teachers at Dundalk was nothing less then wonderful they challenged my children and helped them grow into grown adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

availability of music/art-poor. level of parent involvement=poor.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 21, 2005

The school has been helpful in getting special needs for my daughter. They have been compliant and sympathetic in getting her special placement and services. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Black 24% 35%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1901 Delvale Ave
Baltimore, MD 21222
Phone: (410) 887-7023

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT