Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edmondson Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 497 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

Edmondson Heights Elementary School is full of energetic students hungry for knowledge. Our teachers work hard everyday to ensure our students are getting the education they need so they can be ready for the next level.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2011

This school definitely needs some major work. The attitudes of the staff leave a lot to be desired. If you have a child that attends this school, please go check constantly to see what is going on. I guess since most of the teachers are so young, they forget that this should be a positive environment for children ot learn. A school is only as good as its leadership. You can not expect to get positive results out of a negative enviroment. I encourage visitation to this school to see what's going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

My issue with this school is the noisy class rooms how do you expect childern to learn there are some childern that do want this the new teachers arenot trained they holler at the childern some childern are disrespectfully I hope that this matter can be taken care of this school year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

I loved my son's teacher in Kindergarten and I love what he was learning. I had issues with my son coming home telling me how disrespectful some of the children were causing a lot of class disruption. I had a teacher tell me due to lack of sleep, chldren were falling asleep in class many days. I asked the school not to provide my child with candies except for rare occasions for parties or Holidays. My 5 year old continued to come home with candies that the teachers have given him so I pulled him out of the school. Having a good diet in school is important part of a child's learning process. I can't understand why they sell JUNK foods in the cafteria too and then they wonder why the children are super hyper in class or diagnosed with diabetes in early stages of their life. GO FIGURE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

This school is awsome my soon has been going here science kindergarten now he will be going to middle school but now we are sending our son her for kindergarten the whole staff is wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

I absolutely love this school! We moved here in Feb 2007 and I wouldn't want my son at any other school!! The staff is so helpful and they respond quickly to questions I have as the parent! Thank you for being so outstanding!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2006

This is my daughters first year at this school. I have to admit that initially I was a little leery about the school, during the first week they lost her information and things just seemed a bit unorganized. However as the year is moving along my comfort level is increasing I am very pleased with her teacher Ms. Hughes and I'm just trying to be patient and see how things unfold, they do have a new principal and new administrators so I am expecting to see some change. The school is old and could use some renovations and it is a little rowdy at times so I just try to stay involved and hope that things fall into place by the end of the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

I am sorry to say, but this school is the worst my 3 kids have attended. The children there are loud and disrespectful. The school is very dirty and disorganized, from the moment you walk in, you can sense the chaos that goes in day in out. My children have been bullied, harrassed, and treated inferior by others. This is a shame considering this is happening at the elementary school level. My children's self esteem has suffered a great decline. The cafeteria at is loud and chaotic, not even teachers and supervisors have control of the children at lunch time. Overall, I am sorry and sad that my children ever attended this school, and I am doing everything in my power to transfer them somewhere else. No extracurricular activities, sports, and almost no PTA involvement. There is no racial diversity and anyone coming in who is different will be an outcast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2005

My child is now in 7th grade and used to go to this school, I believe that this is the last school that you should send your child to. This school is not diciplined, is dirty, lunches are terrible, and most students are below grade level, which was holding my child back, because she was and still is above grade level, and has been all throughout her life. she never got to learn the things she should, everything was just to easy for her because they had to keep on reviewing and reviewing. The teacher quality could be much better. The only good teachers at this school, in my opinion, are Mrs. Creighton, the kindergarden teacher, and Mrs. Benjamin, a 5th grade teacher. But yet most public schools are, so go to private. Much Better academic skills
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 85% 36%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
White 3% 43%
Asian 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1600 Langford Rd
Baltimore, MD 21207
Phone: (410) 887-0818

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Agnes School
Baltimore, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT